Google translator

• Replies:8
  • Answered
Deactivated Account
  • Forum posts: 3

Jul 24, 2010, 12:53:25 AM via Website

Hello folks; I'm relatively new to this android development gig so please excuse my ignorance. My first app "Ship, Captain & Crew" was launched a few months back in English and is moderately successful. I recently used Google translator to make a Spanish version but have gotten no sales and no comments so I'm not sure how good the translation came out. Has anyone else tried this and was it worth the effort?

Cliff Koperski

Jeremiah
  • Forum posts: 775

Jul 24, 2010, 7:07:13 AM via Website

Hi Cliff, welcome to the forums. I too am starting to do some android development. I have two apps out so far but only supporting english so far, but that may change. How long has your spanish version been on the market? How are you advertising it, and do you offer a trial or free version? Read this post for some of our suggestions on marketing: https://www.nextpit.com/en/android/forum/thread/399930/Marketing-apps?si=0#p477401

I got an email from a company that does translations for mobile apps, they claim to use native speakers. Their site is called www.onehourtranslation.com

Deactivated Account

Jul 24, 2010, 4:36:48 PM via Website

Thanks Jeremiah: Good luck to you in the Android world. My Spanish app has only been out 2 weeks but as I said there has been no interest and before I go to a translation service I need to find out if there's a market for it and/or did the Google translator work good enough? I'm targeting the Hispanic community in the US and I just listed it for free to see if I get any interest.

— modified on Jul 24, 2010, 4:49:39 PM

Douglas Carter
  • Forum posts: 1,891

Jul 26, 2010, 12:26:40 PM via Website