Tablet recommendation for student ~$200

• Replies:8
KoMoDo
  • Forum posts: 7

Feb 5, 2014, 7:29:42 PM via Website

Hello everyone,

I'm an Engineering college student and thought it's time to get a tablet for my studies and reading - I have a lot of ebooks so one of the most important things for me would be to read my PDF's. I went to a tech store and played around with some tablets and I found that the default viewers don't rescale the text (I understand this is called text reflow?) - so it seems like using qPDF or ezPDF (https://www.nextpit.com/en/android/forum/thread/457228/ezPDF-Reader-1-8-2-1) should take care of that problem?
I was looking at the ASUS Nexus 7, what do you think? It looks good, and less than $200. I am concerned about the size, I just don't want to reach a point where I have to swipe left to right in order to simply read a single line in a book - so I can't have that problem.
This will be my first Android device so I'm pretty ignorant about it. I assume I can get the latest OS directly through the device, and it will support the latest OS for quite some time since the specs on it seem pretty decent?

Thank you.

KoMoDo

sinkster
  • Forum posts: 610

Feb 5, 2014, 8:06:40 PM via Website

With any Nexus you'll always get the latest updates automatically, plus the N7 also has pretty future-proof specs and probably represents the best value for money. Regarding the text reflow, the two apps you mention are pretty good, plus some reader apps can read .azw files which should enable it.

Sinkster

KoMoDo

Feb 5, 2014, 8:25:38 PM via Website

Thank you for the feedback.
I will only be running .pdf files - I'm just really concerned with making sure that will be the case regarding text flow - same goes for websites - are there browsers that do the same?