Basic design question

• Replies:1
AndroidBeginner
  • Forum posts: 1

Nov 23, 2014, 5:50:28 PM via Website

Hey guys,

Total beginner here and I honestly just need help in direction on what to look up to accomplish what I'm looking to accomplish.

I'm a programmer at heart so I can do the back end stuff, I just don't know how to do the front end. What I'm going to get is a list of users from a MySQL database. In that I'll have a BIO, ratings, a url for a picture, a name, etc. I want to take this list and dynamically generate a scrollable list of these little content viewers. I want these to be clickable, as well.

So basically if I get 10 names, I want to dynamically populate 10 of these things with the details I need. I just don't know what to look up or where to get started. I've looked through list views, and a table layout seemed smart, but I really just am looking for the generally accepted method of doing something like this so that I can start on the right path. A good example of something akin to this is simply the gmail app, which is reading a database of your e-mails, populating it with details, pictures, etc. I want the scrolling and clicking to be pretty much the same as that!

Kevin Berendsen
  • Forum posts: 118

Nov 24, 2014, 1:22:37 PM via Website

Hey man :)

You're already on the good path to accomplice this. First of all, ListViews are automatically scrollable and don't require a Scrollable View or similar because that'd simple bug it out.

You need to work with a custom Adapter. An adapter deals with each item of the ListView separately and you could give each item a different onClick event if you wish. I've got somewhat a similar adapter with a custom object for you ready to make this all easy BUT you won't become any wiser by copying and pasting my entire code.