clogged Layers menu in Google Maps

• Replies:4
Christian Nasca
  • Forum posts: 6

Aug 3, 2010, 4:15:49 PM via Website

Hi, I'm relatively new to this. So please accept my apologies if this has been asked before:

In Google "Maps" all previously executed driving "Directions" remain stored as layers in the "Layers" menu. Is there a way to clear this history of driving directions? Most of them become obsolete, if needed only once, but they remain listed in the layers menu which is not beneficial to keep a clear overview of the actual working layers.

Please let me know, if my explanation was not clear enough. And thanks in advance for any help.

Douglas Carter
  • Forum posts: 1,891

Aug 3, 2010, 5:42:12 PM via Website

I had similar problems, but this worked for some:

go to settings-->applications-->manage applications, then press the menu button, then filter and finally select the "all" radio button.

You will then be presented with a list of ALL applications that is on your phone so be careful what you do with them! Anyways, maps will now be in that list and you can proceed to clear data & clear cache which clears all searches AND resets Google Maps to its FACTORY defaults. Make sure you remove all updates.

There is not really any other way to do something about this as of now.

— modified on Aug 3, 2010, 5:46:23 PM

Christian Nasca

Christian Nasca

Aug 3, 2010, 7:18:12 PM via Website

A thousand thanks, Douglas!

That did the trick for me. Although I hope that there will be some kind of "clear history" button in Maps some day...

I'm not sure what you mean by: "Make sure you remove all updates." - There were no updates. But if there would have been updates, why would I have to remove them? And how would I get those updates back onto my phone again?

Douglas Carter
  • Forum posts: 1,891

Aug 4, 2010, 11:10:00 AM via Website