ambe

• Replies:8
Deactivated Account
  • Forum posts: 8

Dec 17, 2010, 3:34:21 AM via Website

Hello, I'm really new to this android phone of mine. Though I love it, I'm still getting use to it and
what it requires to keep it safe and running in good shape. Question, I was using just a "mini task manager"
then I switched to using a "battery saver" the "juice Defender" so now I was wondering do
I need a "task manager" also, or do the "juice defender" take care of closing open, not in
use apps?

please help

justJay
  • Forum posts: 757

Dec 17, 2010, 4:32:47 AM via App

Hello and welcome to AndroidPIT.. we have all asked ourselves the same questions about our Android Devices.. so welcome to the "how do I get the most out of my phone" club! I too tried all the apps you listed above.. with some success. I find it is half the fun testing different combos to see what happens. However after all the testing and reading forums I found that most things can be easily managed manually.

So here's a few tips and others will add to this post to increase your knowledge... :)

First off.. the darker your background picture.. the better battery life.. same goes for apps.. if you have the option to make it black or dark do so!

Second.. turn off things you don't need.. like Bluetooth or WiFi.. also GPS.. they all use power "searching" for signal.. so if you don't need them.. turn them off until you do.

Third.. lower you screen resolution.. your screen uses the most juice.. so lowering it will prolong battery life.

And as for task killers... you will hear that they help and hurt. If you have a 2.2 Android device.. you probably don't need one. iF you are like me and on 2.1 with 100 apps installed.. it might be helpful. I use "Advance Task Killer" personally.. and have found it invaluable on my little HTC Eris.

— modified on Dec 17, 2010, 4:35:05 AM

Douglas Carter
  • Forum posts: 1,891

Dec 17, 2010, 3:14:42 PM via Website