I'm very new to this ... how do I download a free App to my Cell phone?

• Replies:16
  • Answered
zita ranics
  • Forum posts: 7

Feb 5, 2011, 12:36:00 AM via Website

I have an HTC Maple S520 ... would love to download some Apps into it but I can't figure out how.

Could someone walk me through the steps please?

Thank you!

Yan Matusevich
  • Forum posts: 305

Feb 5, 2011, 1:35:30 AM via Website

Normally, the Android Market should be pre-installed on your phone. If it's there then you just open it up and search for any app you'd like. If you'd like suggestions on what apps to get check out this thread: https://www.nextpit.com/en/android/forum/thread/394899/Your-Best-App#p430943

If you do not have the Android Market pre-installed, you must be using a device or be in a country where the Market isn't available.

In that case, you can download our own AndroidPIT App Center which has a fair selection of free and interesting apps.

zita ranics

Feb 5, 2011, 1:40:01 AM via Website

Thanks for the quick reply!

I'm in Canada, and when I go to the andriodpit website on my computer I see the download option for the Android Market, but when I go to the same page on my phone it does not show up ... perhaps I'll email myself the link and see if that brings it up.

zita ranics

Feb 5, 2011, 3:26:53 PM via Website

OK, I downloaded an .apk file called androidpit_appcenter, but once it finished downloading a message on my phone said:

"There is no application associated with "de_androidpit_appcenter-v1514-SSFRQCB9". Run this application first and then open this file inside the application.

Problem is I can't find this application to run ... how can I find it?

(I'm very new to the smartphone world ... )

Thanks!

Yan Matusevich

Feb 5, 2011, 9:55:55 PM via Website

Let me just double-check one thing. Is this your phone http://www.htc.com/ca/products/maple-wind?