how can i upgrade my 1.6 to 2.1?

• Replies:11
adie
  • Forum posts: 3

Feb 15, 2011, 10:17:43 AM via Website

hi
im REALLY a noob in smartphones so i figured to ask you guys.
how can i upgrade my 1.6 to 2.1? step 1 till last pls.
and how to install an apps into my x10 using laptops? as paste into what folder?

Douglas Carter
  • Forum posts: 1,891

Feb 15, 2011, 2:42:27 PM via Website

What region/country do you live in?

Check out this link to see if your handset is supposed to have already been updated to Android 2.1. The X10 phones start further down. The numbers are "“SI-numbers” – that number can be found on the label of the back of your phone."

If your phone's SI number is not listed, then the update may still be coming for your phone.

If your phone's SI number is there, but you are still on Android 1.6, do a restart, have your phone check for updates, and if you still can't get it to update, then let me know.

You can install any free app onto your phone using a file transferred from you PC as long as you have the .apk file. Without an .apk file available, it is not possible.

adie

Feb 16, 2011, 6:26:01 AM via Website

hi.
im from malaysia by the way.
ive already chevked my SI-numbers at the back of my phone n both in the list - and its there..
so what i should do now is searching for updates right?
so thats mean do i have to connect my phone to wifi ? or use the mobile networks?

adie

Feb 16, 2011, 1:45:03 PM via Website

hi
i just finished updating my phone by using sony ericsson PC companion.
all are settled. thanx for everything.

Douglas Carter

Feb 16, 2011, 1:57:01 PM via Website

Ah, I was just about to reply to your thread. Glad to hear you figured it out on your own though. How are you liking Android 2.1? Notice any differences? If not, you can at least feel better knowing that you have access to more apps now.

Niels Christiansen
  • Forum posts: 47

Feb 19, 2011, 6:10:24 PM via App