Samsung Galaxy S2 — my phone suddenly got hot

• Replies:13
Amirul Zharif
  • Forum posts: 1

Sep 20, 2011, 8:26:46 PM via Website

Hello..i'm newbie here n i just got my galaxy s2 last month..

i'm not sure weather anyone else have this problem to or not..but my phone suddenly got hot at the back..and if i left it in that condition my battery will drain too fast..the heat that i felt is around the camera area..is it got to do with the battery or is there any other solution to this problem?? whenever this prob happens to me i'll shutdown my phone n wait till it cools down..plz..do give some advices..TQ

Steven Blum
  • Forum posts: 882

Sep 21, 2011, 10:36:41 AM via Website

Are you streaming data heavily? If so, that'll do it. Bluetooth will also make a good deal of heat when charging.

If the phone is getting too hot, try turning it off for a bit.

Aaron Tilton
  • Forum posts: 838

Sep 21, 2011, 12:01:11 PM via Website

This isn't a problem; it's just a side effect of modern smartphones esp. the Galaxy S2. When you do any processor heavy work on the phone (running complecated apps, graphical programs, streaming data) the phone is going to get hot. That's due to the fact that they basicly have a laptop processor in a body a tenth of the size with no real means of external cooling. So yeah it's going to get hot when using it and you can't do much about it. But that doesn't mean you have to shut off your phone each time. If you think it's getting too hot just give it a rest and a chance to cool down a bit but I've heard about phones getting up to 40c+ with no problems because of it.

If you have more questions feel free to post here or check out our hardware forum for more tips and tricks.

— modified on Sep 21, 2011, 12:02:32 PM

Aziz Ur Rehman

Oct 15, 2011, 9:59:12 AM via Website

Hi