Do i have to put my app on Android Market

• Replies:13
Quiz Master
  • Forum posts: 5

Oct 3, 2011, 1:57:33 PM via Website

First off apologies if this question has already been asked/answered had a good look round and couldn't find anything.

I'm new to developing apps and have made one on the Google App Inventor. The app is associated with my quiz show on YouTube and basically provides quick links to the latest quiz show aswell as my associated blog,twitter,Facebook. The app is very basic but I like it and it does what I want it to do.

So I was wondering do I have to put the app straight onto Market or can I pit it somewhere else to get abit of exposure and users to see how it goes before uploading to Market. I think the $25 sign up fee is a little steep for the moment but will eventually pay it and upload.

So yeah basically as it says is there somewhere I can post the app, how do I go about it.

Your thoughts please.

Jeremiah
  • Forum posts: 775

Oct 3, 2011, 6:58:15 PM via Website

Yes, theres other markets you can post your app to. AndroidPit has it's own market, go to androidpit.com and sign up for a developer account. Also you could post to getjar.com and slideme.org and theres a few others.

— modified on Oct 3, 2011, 6:59:16 PM

Quiz Master

Oct 3, 2011, 10:19:46 PM via Website

Do I have to pay to post it on here or getjar

Jeremiah

Oct 3, 2011, 11:57:48 PM via Website

No, its free to post it, though for your paid apps, the markets may charge a percentage of your apps earnings. For free apps they don't charge anything.

Quiz Master

Oct 4, 2011, 2:16:25 AM via Website

Ive tried uploading on here but it says it has to be on the Android Market first before it can be put here, so kinda defeats the object of what i wanted. Cos i dont wanna pay Android Market $25 yet. Will give GetJar a try

Jeremiah

Oct 4, 2011, 3:34:44 AM via Website

Quiz Master