HTC Sensation XE — Rooting

  • Replies:13
  • OpenNot stickiedUnanswered
  • Forum posts: 5

Jan 2, 2012 2:54:43 AM via Website

Does this forum support rooting for Sensation XE?
  • Forum posts: 882

Jan 2, 2012 10:02:11 AM via Website

Rooting the Sensation XE should be the same process as rooting the original Sensation. I would recommend Googling around for information on rooting the Sensation and go from there!
  • Forum posts: 5

Jan 2, 2012 3:18:22 PM via Website

Not sure will do it. You have doe it? I'm afraid I will mess up. I went to xda forums already to check and there's information about rooting but still I'm not sure I want to do it or not.
  • Forum posts: 26

Jan 2, 2012 9:41:26 PM via Website

I'm loving my XE (now my 3rd HTC) just as it is, plus I'd be too scared of turning it into a brick. I guess only you can decide if it's worth it.... what would it actually give you that you don't have now?
  • Forum posts: 5

Mar 2, 2012 12:34:55 AM via Website

I use ICS 4.03 and sense 3.6 with the latest firmware 3.30.
Its working great.
I just tried the soft from Htc-one (Endeavor) with sense 4.0 but not all the app's are working.
  • Forum posts: 5

Mar 2, 2012 12:09:03 PM via Website

ICS 4.03 is the Android software and sense is the input from HTC in the software,
So the base is ICS 4.03 and you can have it with Sense, NOSense or MUI.
  • Forum posts: 196

Mar 2, 2012 1:11:33 PM via Website

I still do not understand why Samsung, HTC and Moto have to run their own launchers.. I wish they would give us users the option to use their launcher or go ICS pure.

I think back in the old 1.X and 2.0 days these launchers were innovative, now they just seem to be archaic...

Back to Rooting the Sensation -- there is lots of info on the XDA site and you should be fine if you follow the steps correctly.

Good luck.
  • Forum posts: 5

Mar 4, 2012 1:56:46 AM via Website

Aaron Tilton
Eah? ICS and Sense? Like dual-boot style?

Yes I'm rooted and using BootManager lite (free app) to have two Custom roms to boot.:grin:
  • Forum posts: 842

Mar 5, 2012 11:25:40 AM via Website

Really... that's new too me. So I could do like a basic ICS boot and a sensewiz boot if I wanted to? Doesn't that take up a lot of free space on your internal memory?
  • Forum posts: 8

May 15, 2012 9:06:11 PM via Website

if you want to root your sensation/XE then it depends on the HBOOT you have

for hboot 1.18.000 or lower then take a trip to and follow the instructions carfully

if you have hboot 1.27.000 then take a look at this link:

if however you have hboot 1.29.000 like me then it gets very hard, and currently i would not attempt it,

i accept no responsibility for any damage if you follow the guide and it goes wrong.

hope this helps
  • Forum posts: 13

Jan 10, 2013 11:16:37 AM via Website

I had the 1.18.0000 HBoot version before i updated to ICS..It then changed to 1.29.0000..after i finished my phone warranty..I officially unlocked my bootloader with the and the ultimately rooted my phone with the juopnutbear S-Off utility...

Now currently using..Cyanogenmod 9 pyramid ROM