How to clear the system cache for the Samsung Galaxy Note 2

  • Replies:5
  • OpenStickiedUnanswered
  • Forum posts: 598

Jun 30, 2014 4:38:44 PM via Website

Hey AndroidPIT readers,

If you have problems with your Samsung Galaxy Note 2 and the smartphone isn't working properly, a good solution is to wipe the system cache. You don't even need to do a hard reset. In fact, doing a system cache will NOT delete any of your personal info, but only the background and application cache. Cache is stored data on the phone which allows apps to load quicker, it's like the data is on standby until you need it again. Wiping it simply means that the app will have to reload the data.

Here's how it's done:

Turn off the Galaxy Note 2.
Press and hold Volume UP + Home + Power buttons.
When the Android System Recovery screen appears, release the Volume Up and Home keys.
In the recovery menu, navigate to ‘’wipe cache partition’’ with the volume buttons.
Press power button to confirm.
Once this is done, select reboot system now.

Did this work for you?

Find out how to factory reset your Samsung Galaxy Note 2
Find out how to hard reset your Samsung Galaxy Note 2

  • Forum posts: 9

Jul 8, 2014 10:45:14 AM via Website

why not have a try of system cleaning app, just like AIO toolbox, i found it's so easy to get rid of cache files

  • Forum posts: 1

Sep 22, 2015 4:39:12 AM via Website

Thank you so much! :D

I was finally able to get the Stagefright patch because of this.

  • Forum posts: 1

Jan 17, 2016 12:31:15 AM via Website

I'm getting a warning screen when I try to get clear the cache. Uploading a picture to show issueimage

  • Forum posts: 664

Jan 17, 2016 2:49:59 AM via Website

Tiffany Carroll

I'm getting a warning screen when I try to get clear the cache. Uploading a picture to show issue![image][1]

you have pressed the wrong keys

No need to worry, just press the Volume down button to cancel
You have to Press and hold Volume UP + Home + Power buttons to go to recovery mode to clear cache

Ready To Help You.

  • Forum posts: 1

Jan 26, 2016 2:20:38 PM via Website

Thanks man, that saved me. Tried deleting the cache of the TouchWiz first, which didnt help and instead cost me all my established desktop.
But your easy to follow guide totally did and didnt change anything in my icon list or usage . Lags completely gone and mobile is as good as new with all my data intact.