LG G3 Cat.6 — 4G connection problem fix

  • Replies:11
  • OpenNot stickiedUnanswered
  • Forum posts: 29

Aug 26, 2014 7:53:52 PM via App

Dear all
my G3 was limitted to HSPA connection and yet the specs say it is 4G enabled. i downloaded 4G switcher and used LTE/GSM/CDMA config on the app and immediately 4G became activated. if anyone else has a fix please let me know.

  • Admin
  • Forum posts: 2,140

Aug 27, 2014 10:52:11 AM via Website

Well, try going to the settings>Tethering and Networks>Mobile Networks> Tap over Network Mode> Select GSM/WCDMA/LTE (Auto). Now try checking it should be getting 4G network. :)

PS: The Application you have downloaded is doing the exactly same thing. (lightbulb)

  • Forum posts: 29

Aug 27, 2014 11:25:13 AM via App

i do not have that option. it just gives me GSM/WCDMA.

  • Forum posts: 2

Sep 28, 2014 3:13:07 PM via Website

I have the same problem on LG G3 Cat.6 (F460S). The only choices on "Network mode" are "LTE preferred" (and LTE works fine on AT&T network in US) and "3G only". Would like to use a "4G" mode when LTE is not available, but that never works. Question to Russell: which "4G switcher" app exactly did you use? I tried several similar apps from Google Play store, and none works for me. Also just posted a similar question on XDA Developers network, will see if we can get more answers from there:


  • Forum posts: 29

Sep 28, 2014 4:43:24 PM via App

I used a 4G switcher with a red button icon. using the drop down network mode I chose lte/gsm/Assam mode. Then the phone searches and activates 4G sign. my phone does this.

  • Forum posts: 2

Sep 29, 2014 2:13:17 AM via Website

Thank you, Russell. It is confusing. My old Note 3 (AT&T model) was showing either "4G" with small LTE letters underneath, or 4G only. Now the LG G3 shows either LTE or 3G, and the 3G symbol is at the same places where Note 3 was showing 4G only. Very confusing...


  • Forum posts: 29

Sep 30, 2014 1:04:37 AM via App

I can imagine. 4G is LTE. so far as it's labelled here in the UK. usually when is 3G it shows also H. this is HSPDA. a 3.5G type connection.

  • Forum posts: 1

Feb 3, 2015 10:05:51 PM via Website

i have tried this , and downloaded 4 g switcher it does not work on my device,3g signal poor , did not have this problem on my note 3 or Sony z3
i was told it could be lolly pop, really pissin me of, im on the tree .ie network

  • Forum posts: 1

Aug 4, 2015 12:27:37 PM via Website

can you provide us a link of that app ? because i have downloaded, 4G switcher, but does not shows how to change preferred network setting

  • Forum posts: 1

Apr 6, 2016 2:45:05 PM via Website

i have lg g3 cat 6 f460L..actually my phone doesnt show 3g 4g networks..how can i access 3g 4g internet on this device..
i m from pakistan

— modified on Apr 6, 2016 2:45:35 PM

  • Forum posts: 1

May 21, 2016 8:06:05 PM via Website

I equally have the same mobile phone and I have the same problem,all I get under my settings is set network/automatic or WCDMA. I don't have any option for 4G or LTE...I really need help. I wanna make use of this phone's amazing CPU with the 4G connection...