Does Whatsapp allow you to use multiple SIMs with different numbers to set up the web app?

  • Replies:7
  • OpenNot stickiedUnanswered
  • Forum posts: 4

Jun 13, 2018 10:17:43 AM via Website

Hi,

Does whatsapp allow us to use multiple SIMs in the same phone to set up the web app, but will the whatsapp web keep the number or will it change when you change the sim?

Reply
Bastian Siewers
  • Admin
  • Staff
  • Forum posts: 9,056

Jun 13, 2018 10:28:47 AM via Website

Hi adamvv, welcome to AndroidPIT! :)

WhatsApp is always relying on the phone number, as it defines your account. When you connect the Web App to your phone app, it will stay connected. If you are using a dual sim smartphone with multiple instances of WhatsApp, you need to activate multiple instances of the Web App in your browser. Honestly, I am not even sure if you can actually do that within the same browser, if not, simply use a 2nd browser for the 2nd Web App.

— modified on Jun 13, 2018 10:29:05 AM

Helpful?
Reply
  • Forum posts: 4

Jun 13, 2018 11:02:00 AM via Website

Thanks for getting back to me, can I use multiple sims in the same phone and Whatsapps still stay connected on the web or will it disconnect on the web as soon as i change the sim and log out?

Helpful?
Reply
Bastian Siewers
  • Admin
  • Staff
  • Forum posts: 9,056

Jun 13, 2018 6:46:00 PM via Website

WhatsApp is only checking the number while registering, after that the only thing it really needs, is an internet connection. Therefore you can change the SIM card in the phone and WhatsApp will keep operating as before.

Helpful?
Reply
  • Forum posts: 44

Jun 14, 2018 2:48:10 AM via Website

If you have multiple SIMs and want to use multiple WhatsApp accounts on one phone, you may try Parallel Space, the tool that can clone apps on your phone. Check how to use dual apps on Android.

Helpful?
Reply
  • Forum posts: 1

Jun 15, 2018 4:39:39 AM via Website

No idea about Whatsapp because I don't use this app yet.

Helpful?
Reply
  • Forum posts: 4

Jun 15, 2018 9:59:27 AM via Website

Hi Payon,

I they anything on IOS like Parallel Space? Which allows app cloning?

Helpful?
Reply
  • Forum posts: 44

Jun 15, 2018 11:14:45 AM via Website

Hi adamvv,

AFAIK, it is not possible without jailbreak, which is not recommended only for app cloning.

Helpful?
Reply