This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. OK
Authored by:

Google Translate adds five more languages

Authored by: Sterling Keys — May 10, 2013

In it's latest update, Google has added five new languages to the vast repertoire on Google Translate bringing it's total to over seventy languages. Along with it's notable previous update of being able to provide users with offline access to it's translation services, it seems like it's a continual "full steam ahead" approach by Google in keeping their products active and continually evolving. 

A recent update to Google Translate has added support to five new languages / ©

Updated Languages

The addition of these five languages adds potential support to over 183 million more people around the world. The updated languages are as follows:

  • Bosnian.
  • Cebuano, a language spoken in the Philippines.
  • Hmong, a language spoken throughout China, Vietnam, Laos, Thailand, and the United States
  • Javanese, the second most-spoken language in Indonesia.
  • Marathi, an Indian dialect.
The update includes access across all platforms, including it's Android and iOS apps / ©

Google has noted that with the exception of the Bosnian language, all other languages are considered to be in an alpha stage, which means they may not be quite up to par yet with other official languages on Google Translate, however, Google will continue to update and tweak them as time goes on. 

Check out the official announcement here and make sure to give it out a try for yourself!

Via: Engadget Source: Google Blog

From all the way over on Vancouver Island, Sterling Keys started off his smartphone adventure with an HTC S710 equipped with Windows Mobile and knew there had to be something better. Over the next few years, and countless different operating systems, he has finally found his home on Android.

No comments

Write new comment:

This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. More info

Got it!