This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. OK

Last Thursday Instagram introduced a new feature that allows users to send private messages and videos to each other. A user can send a photo or video to up to 15 people and goes to the users as private messages. Here we are going to show you how to take advantage of the new features step by step on the new Android 4.4.2 OS using the Nexus 4. In order to take advantage of the new feature, you need to download the latest version of the application from the Google Play Store.

instagram direct teaser
In this article we will go through the steps of using Instagram Direct on the Android Platform / © Instagram

Your Inbox

The New Inbox Button Above the Newsfeed Comes With the New Version of the App / © AndroidPIT

There is now a new button on Instagram which is the mailbox icon above the newsfeed in the app. Here you will be able to view all the messages that you have sent or received. There will also be some alerts for comments on older threads that you have posted.

Sending A Private Message

In order to send a private message from the app, you can click on the Inbox button. Doing this will open up the new inbox. You can then proceed to tap on the plus button that appears above the inbox.

This is what your inbox will look like if you have never used Instagram Direct before / © AndroidPIT

Once you have done this, you will be able to take a picture or you will be able to go into your gallery and choose a picture. Once you have chosen a filter and edited your picture, you will then be able to choose who you will send the photo to.

Here is the screen you are taken to once you have chosen the photo and the effects you want on it/ © AndroidPIT

You can only send a picture to those who you are following on the social network. You can choose up to 15 recipients and then send your photo.

Here you can choose the recepients of your photo / © AndroidPIT

Naturally, the photo I have just sent will not be displayed in a public newsfeed.

Managing Your Inbox

To keep your inbox organized you have a few options. Instead of being able to hide any photos or videos that you have sent, you can only delete the thread you have created. This will remove the photo from your Instagram as well as from the inbox of the people you sent the video or photo to. When someone has sent you something, you can hide it from your inbox.

You also have the choice of ignoring future messages from contacts by selecting the option within the options menu. 

What do you think about the new features on Instagram? Have you given them a try? Please leave us a comment below and we will get back to you.

No comments

Write new comment:

This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. More info

Got it!