We use cookies on our websites. Information about cookies and how you can object to the use of cookies at any time or end their use can be found in our privacy policy.
Samsung Galaxy S7 review: back to the good ol' times
Samsung Galaxy S7 Hardware review 14 min read 124 comments

Samsung Galaxy S7 review: back to the good ol' times

The Galaxy S7 is available worldwide. With this handset, Samsung has built upon all the strengths of its past phones and delivered a new standard in mobile technology. The S7 is not perfect but it is a great option if you're on a budget and you want a good Android smartphone. Find out why in our full Samsung Galaxy S7 review. You can also check out our review on the larger version of this phone, the Samsung Galaxy S7 Edge.

Rating

Good

  • Strong performance for everyday tasks and gaming
  • Excellent display
  • Speed and quality of cameras
  • Water resistant

Bad

  • Incomplete microSD card support

Samsung Galaxy S7 release date and price

The Galaxy S7 was released on March 11, 2016, and its price was set at US$699 for the 32 GB model. Now, it's still available and will cost you anywhere between $200 - $500. It comes in a four main color variants: black, white, gold and silver. A 64 GB version is also available in some markets (though not in the US).

AndroidPIT Samsung Galaxy S7 vs S6 18
The silver variant of the Galaxy S7. / © ANDROIDPIT

For comparison, the iPhone 6s 16 GB can currently be picked up unlocked for close to the same price – US$680 - US$699 – and the LG G5 will probably start at the same. 

Samsung Galaxy S7 design and build quality

Basically, the Galaxy S7 is a minor – but in some ways very important – update to its predecessor. From the outside, you could be forgiven for confusing the two devices, with similar buttons and sensor placements.

AndroidPIT Samsung galaxy s7 REVIEW 1
From the front, the S7 looks like it could be the Galaxy S6's twin. / © ANDROIDPIT

Comparing the S7 to other previous Android phones, it’s undoubtedly more compact, featuring a 5.1-inch display, but it is also perhaps a little thicker than most at 7.9 mm (though you would never describe the device itself as thick).  

Like the Galaxy S5, the S7 is water resistant. It can survive a quick dip unscathed with IP68 certification: a feature that is also found on the Sony Xperia flagships.

AndroidPIT Samsung galaxy s7 REVIEW 2
The curved edges of the S7 gives it a gorgeous feel / © ANDROIDPIT

The Galaxy S7's dimensions come in at 142.4 x 69.6 x 7.9 mm with an aluminum frame, and a scratch-resistant layer of Gorilla Glass 4 on the front and back.

It’s 1.1 mm thicker than its predecessor, but it's a facet of the design with a two-fold benefit. Firstly, the extra space allows for a 17.6 percent greater battery capacity. Secondly, the camera sensor is less prominent (more on that in a second).

AndroidPIT Samsung galaxy s7 REVIEW 6
Upstairs there is a microphone and a slot for the microSD and SIM cards. / © ANDROIDPIT

The rear of the Galaxy S7 is where the most visible design changes can be seen. The S7 has laterally curved glass, like that of the Galaxy Note 5, which, combined with its petite frame, provides a sumptuously snug fit in the hand. 

Then there’s the camera lens. The sensor protrudes by only 0.46 mm, which helps the device to remain flat when lying on its back. It’s barely noticeable, really, while the Galaxy S6 camera stuck out a distracting 1.7 mm from the device.

AndroidPIT Samsung galaxy s7 7
Rounded to perfection: thanks to its curved back, you can easily pick up an S7. / © ANDROIDPIT

On the front of the Galaxy S7, Samsung remains faithful to the previous design decisions. The proximity and light sensors are found on the top left of the device (next to the notification LED). The loudspeaker for calls is in the center, and the front-facing camera is at the top right. Even the physical home button with fingerprint sensor, centered below the display, is identically shaped and placed as on the S6.

AndroidPIT Samsung galaxy s7 9
The power button on the right of the phone can easily be reached with an ambitious thumb. / © AndroidPIT

The S7's differences can be understood better with the hands than with the eyes. There are a few small details that have a big impact on the overall design, and it means the S7 is a pleasure to look at and hold.

Display: at the time, one of the best

The Galaxy S7 features a Super AMOLED display with 1,440 x 2,560 resolution: the same specs as the S6. The S7 screen is typical Samsung: that is to say, it’s sublime. Thanks to the QHD resolution and 5.1-inch display, a pixel density of 577 pixels-per-inch is achieved, guaranteeing great sharpness and detail.

Likewise, contrast and saturation were of high quality at the time: blacks are true and even in bright sunlight the S7 screen is easy to read. Obviously it isn't comparable to the Galaxy S9 display, but for a cheaper device from 2016, you will be satisfied.

AndroidPIT Samsung galaxy s7 REVIEW 10
A typically brilliant Galaxy S7 screen. / © AndroidPIT

Samsung has provided further optimizations to the Galaxy S7 and thanks to these, the contrast and brightness of the screen can be adjusted depending on ambient light. In very dark conditions, you can watch this transition at work and because it automatically improves readability, it's a worthwhile addition.

Always-on displays are not a new trend

Both the S7 and LG G5 implemented this this technology. Always-on means a portion of the Galaxy S7 screen remains permanently active. This part of the display can contain calendar information, the date and time, notifications and much more. The implementation of this feature caused concerns over the effect it would have on battery life. It’s small, but it is noticeable.

AndroidPIT Samsung Galaxy S7 1
The Always-on S7 display. / © AndroidPIT

According to Samsung, the always-on function consumes little power because only individual pixels are activated. But I could see the effect it had on battery life, so I disabled it.

Dust and water resistant thanks to the IP68 certification

After a two-year wait, the Galaxy S series is again dust and water resistant. This time, instead of just surviving temporary immersion, the Galaxy S7 is now capable of surviving a depth of up to 1.5 meters for up to 30 minutes.

Thus, it has a better class of protection than the Galaxy S5 and far better than the Galaxy S6, which promised no protection against these elements.

During my test period, I doused the Galaxy S7 a number of times without problems. What is particularly clever is the handset’s recognition of wet connections: attempt to plug in your charging cable while a drop of water is in the USB port, and the S7 will prevent the charge to avoid short circuits.

Game Launcher and Vulkan

A new feature introduced by the Galaxy S7 was Game Launcher. This software feature acts as a home for all of your gaming activities.

Installed games are collected here and it also includes other game-related functions such as the ability to take screenshots, record gameplay videos, and post these to social networks.

galaxy s7 game launcher
The Game Launcher saves energy, enables screen recording and can minimize games. / © AndroidPIT

Game Mode may be interesting for more “hardcore” gamers, as enabling this means all notifications can be disabled and all power and resources can be directed to the game in question (a feature which might become even more necessary as the S7 ages).

Since the Galaxy S7 and the Galaxy S7 Edge were among the first smartphones that the new Game API Vulkan supports, we can continue to expect support for modern, demanding Android games optimized for these devices.

AndroidPIT Samsung Galaxy S7 edge 81
Game Launcher on the S7 Edge. / © AndroidPIT

Fingerprint sensor

The Galaxy S7 holds a fingerprint sensor within its physical home button. The S7 supports Samsung Pay What's more, the wireless payment service has the edge over Google Pay, as it is compatible with existing payment terminals.

AndroidPIT Samsung Galaxy S7 vs S6 13
Samsung already made numerous accessories with "always-on" support available. / © AndroidPIT

Software

The Galaxy S7 runs Android 6.0.1 Marshmallow out of the box with Samsung’s TouchWiz interface. There is little in the way of pre-installed apps and what’s there is quite practical. The Galaxy S7 will receive monthly software updates to prevent any security breaches and software errors.

An update to Android 7.0 Nougat has since been rolled out to all S7 devices, bringing with it a range of new software features and performance improvements. Highlights for the S7 Nougat update include device maintenance, which helps you to optimize battery, performance and security, and an improved battery usage meter.

Now, Android Oreo 8.0 is available to newer devices such as the Galaxy S8, but these updates seem to be taking some time, so it is not certain whether the S7 will be getting this software update at all. Even Android P is making progress with the developer preview being released to Pixel devices recently

In addition to the seven Samsung apps, there are five from Microsoft, as well as Facebook, WhatsApp and a selection of Google Apps. Your carrier will no doubt pre-install its own S7 software to make network-specific adjustments for Voice over LTE support or Mobile Payments.

AndroidPIT Samsung Galaxy S7 edge 3
TouchWiz on the Galaxy S7 Edge. / © AndroidPIT

Perfomance: some small problems, but fast overall

The performance of our Galaxy S7 was very fast, but I did experience a few dropouts and crashes. Future updates will likely quash these bugs and increase overall stability. Samsung has delivered a worthy improvement to the already extremely fast Galaxy S6; in many measurements, the Galaxy S7 was at the time, the fastest device we'd tested.

The gaming performance is in the range of the Pixel C tablet, whose graphics chip was produced by the gaming performance experts at Nvidia. Combined with planned software enhancements from Vulkan, I expected a breakthrough gaming experience for the Galaxy S7, though currently there are only a few titles available based on the new technology.

Galaxy S7 benchmark comparison

  Galaxy S7 (Exynos) Galaxy S6 Huawei Mate 8
Vellamo Metal 2743 2585 2917
Vellamo Multi Core 3371 3192 3390
AnTuTu 6.0.4 130270 76703 90040
Basemark X 1.1 High 31131 15134 15325

The Galaxy S7 we tested was the European version with the Exynos 8890 processor (a Qualcomm Snapdragon 820 version is available in the US and the performance is similar). The new top-of-the-range processor in the S7 includes four plus four CPU cores and Mali-T880 graphics. 

If only one or two cores are in use, the Galaxy S7 processor is automatically overclocked to 2.6 GHz, which provides faster performance on most everyday tasks and the heat pipe cooling solution in the S7 prevents thermal throttling in everyday life.

The internal storage is 32 GB UFS 2.0 memory. This flash memory provides very high speeds. With 389 MB / s read and 68 MB / s write speeds registered in Vellamo Metal, the Galaxy S7 is 2.45 and 1.39 times faster, respectively, than the (almost) equally expensive Nexus 6P.

galaxy s7 antutu geekbench store
AnTuTu and Geekbench 3 scores for the Galaxy S7. / © ANDROIDPIT

In everyday life, you see this speed showcased when powering up or rebooting the device and, most noticeably, when installing and opening apps. If you’re upgrading from an older device, you will notice the difference immediately.

One weak point of the S7 is the small internal memory it comes with, as around 7 of its 32 GB of internal storage space are chewed up before you even install anything. Thankfully, this can be extended by a microSD card to store music, movies, images and even entire apps. Despite this, it does not have the true Adoptable Storage functionality that Marshmallow provides.  

galaxy s7 vellamo score
Vellamos sheds light on the CPU speeds. / © ANDROIDPIT

The device we tested crashed once in five days, and another time the TouchWiz user interface had to restart. As Samsung delivers monthly security updates, early patches should improve the already impressive stability.

Audio quality

The built-in speaker of the S7 is loud and clear. It is optimized primarily for audio conferencing, so it isn’t so well-suited to the low frequencies that make for better music listening. A pair of in-ear headphones are included, and they come with an extra pair of rubber covers. These offer decent enough quality for listening to music. Using the software equalizer, the sound can be adjusted to your liking.

AndroidPIT Samsung Galaxy S7 vs S6 87
The Galaxy S7 (left) and Galaxy S7 edge (center) besides the Galaxy S6 (right). / © AndroidPIT

The Galaxy S7 also offers a clever voice-recording app that makes use of the top and bottom speakers to produce stereo recordings. This makes differentiating between multiple voices much easier.

galaxy s7 voiceRECORDER
The microphone signals are divided into stereo channels when recording. / © AndroidPIT

Camera: not bad!

The Galaxy S7 camera was one of the best on the market at the time of our review. Its snappy focus and shutter time, in conjunction with the quick launch feature, make it fun, functional and an undeniable selling point. The results speak for themselves: very few photos do not come out well on the first attempt.

AndroidPIT Samsung galaxy 3 s7
Fewer megapixels, more light sensitivity. / © AndroidPIT

Samsung has reduced the number of MPs on the Galaxy S7's main camera sensor from 16 to 12. Nevertheless, the quality of the photos produced sees a marked improvement. This is mainly because of the dual pixel technology the S7 camera now employs, something that can be found on more expensive Canon SLR cameras. The advantage of dual pixel technology is, essentially, that the autofocus operates extremely fast.

With the shutter, Samsung goes one step further than the Galaxy S6. The aperture size has increased from f / 1.9 to f / 1.7. This larger opening allows more light to be let in, so pictures, particularly in low-light conditions, come out better. Of course, the Galaxy S7 also has an optical image stabilizer, which compensates for unsteady hands.

AndroidPIT Samsung Galaxy S7 10
The S7 camera software is identical to that on the S6. / © AndroidPIT

As always, the photo app offers several features which provide a versatile range of exciting and fun things to play with. These include slow-motion and time-lapse imaging, access to numerous presets, as well as fixed focus and exposure values.

galaxy s7 camera app
Exposure and focus can be fixed so that the camera will no longer adjust automatically. / © AndroidPIT

The Galaxy S7 also packs a 5 MP front-facing camera with an f / 1.7 aperture. It, too, delivered amazing results in our test; the dynamic range held up well, even under poor lighting conditions. All in all, the S7 camera is great. 

How long does the battery last?

With just one charge, the Galaxy S7 will survive through the day, even with heavy use. In addition, the supplied charger can fully juice the battery in 90 minutes and the energy-saving modes are smart, functioning better than similar solutions found on other devices.

The Galaxy S6’s battery was a weak point, and rightly came under fire from many users. Samsung has taken this criticism on board and installed a 3,000-mAh battery in the Galaxy S7, up from the 2,600 mAh found on the Galaxy S6.

AndroidPIT Samsung galaxy s7 8
It's not USB Type-C, but the Galaxy S7 can still be charged quickly. / © AndroidPIT

Nacho Nieto, Head of Technology and Platforms at Samsung, explained to us that the battery in the S7 is malleable and, because of this, a 3,000-mAh variant was the only option. The moldable battery can also be customized so that it fills available space within the phone, which was not possible with the battery used in the S6.

Like the Galaxy S6, the S7 also supports wireless charging.

galaxy s7 save power
Samsung's app power saving software can optimize games and background apps. / © AndroidPIT

Unfortunately, the controversial non-removable battery that started with the Galaxy S6 is a problem that continued with the S7. In fact, the only flagship to feature a removable battery at the time was the LG G5, and most smartphones nowadays don't enable you to remove the battery, so that's hardly a point against it.

Samsung also equipped the S7 with some software features intended to save battery life. These features keep an eye on when the device is being used and put apps into a deep sleep mode when they have been ignored for three days.

This provides an extended standby time without limiting functionality. When other manufacturers attempted to include similar features, it meant that sometimes messages or emails arrived late, making the feature more annoying than useful.

Samsung Galaxy S7 technical specifications

Dimensions: 142.4 x 69.6 x 7.9 mm
Weight: 152 g
Battery size: 3000 mAh
Screen size: 5.1 in
Display technology: AMOLED
Screen: 2560 x 1440 pixels (577 ppi)
Front camera: 5 megapixels
Rear camera: 12 megapixels
Flashlight: Dual-LED
Android version: 7.0 - Nougat
User interface: TouchWiz
RAM: 4 GB
Internal storage: 32 GB
64 GB
Removable storage: microSD
Chipset: Samsung Exynos 8890
Qualcomm Snapdragon 820
Number of cores: 8
4
Max. clock speed: 2.6 GHz
2.15 GHz
Connectivity: HSPA, LTE, NFC, Bluetooth 4.2

Final verdict

Samsung did a good job of addressing concerns users had with the Galaxy S6. The Galaxy S7 features an increased battery size, improved performance and the return of water and dust resistance, along with the much beloved MicroSD card slot. It's almost as if Samsung wanted to revel in past glories while moving on to pursue new ideals.

The Galaxy S7 surely warrants its asking price. It excels in all the key areas: its camera is the best that we have tested so far; its gaming performance is great and future-proof; its battery life is enough to support heavy use; and it’s generally a snappy and smooth device.

Above all, the Galaxy S7 has, thanks to its traditional but polished design, gilded itself with a certain prestige that you only otherwise see with the iPhone - but you get it for much less money. So, there are very compelling reasons why you should consider buying the S7 over its Apple equivalent or a modern mid-range Android. 

Readers' favorite comments

  • Dwayne Porter Mar 3, 2016

    Just received my S7 (upgraded from S6). Overall impression is that it’s fine, but nothing really exceptional over the S6. Yes, it has some better specs, but in daily use you can't tell a difference and some aspects are worse.

    There are several annoying changes. For example, they removed the perfectly good stock music and video players. Now you have to go download them, and when you do they no longer function with S-Voice. They also don’t take whichever skin you happen to like because they are separate apps instead of native ones.

    It’s also less visually appealing, imo, since they removed the bright bezel around the home button and made the top speaker black instead of bright (btw, the top speaker protrudes slightly from the face whereas it was flush on the S6). You wouldn’t think these changes would make much of a difference, but the face of the S7 (at least my Black Onyx version) is now just a big, black, boring, screen with no hint of being an upscale product. At a cost of several hundred dollars I'd prefer my devices to be visually attractive, but that's just me. The black S6 had the bright home button bezel and speaker which matched the metal on the case, and there was a very subtle blue tint surrounding the screen which made for a high-quality look.

    Direct comparisons of photos taken with the S6 and S7 does not reveal any major subjective improvements, and the loss of the 16:9 option is annoying. Video is less smooth on the S7, and the front facing camera on the S7 takes noticeably less sharp pictures.

    The expandable storage is a plus, but I had plenty of space on my 64Gb S6. Now they’ve decided to only offer a 32Gb S7, which makes the expandable storage a ncessesity, but then they stupidly decided not to enable app storage on the SD card, so it’s not integrated and you can only put photos or other files there.

    There’s no IR blaster, so for those of us who used it it’s another annoying deletion.

    The multi-screen feature (having two apps open on the same screen) doesn’t work. It says it’s available and the help menu tells you how to do it, but when you follow the instructions it simply doesn’t work. How stupid is that? Worked fine on my S6.

    Yes, the battery is a little bigger. Yes, it has a slightly faster processor. Yes, you can drip some water on it. But overall the S7 is unimpressive and certainly not worth upgrading to from an S6. Don’t waste your money if you’re a happy S6 user, you’ll be disappointed.

    I wish I could be in the design meetings with Samsung execs to save them from themselves when they are making idiotic decisions about their flagship devices. Seriously, someone in a meeting at sometime during the process had to say, “You know what, instead of making the S7 something that S5 and S6 users will absolutely want to rush out and purchase, and something that would sway Apple users to consider switching, let’s annoy our customers by removing capabilites, making the user experience more frustrating, and providing an overall “meh” device.” And everyone else had to say, “Yep, that’s a really good idea!”

124 comments

Write new comment:
All changes will be saved. No drafts are saved when editing

  • I'm still using a Galaxy Note 4 ... while there is no IR BLASTER on any new smartphone ... I'm not changing mine. The Galaxy Note 4 is 8 cores, 3gb ram, the same resolution and oled screen than the new ones ... so. add again the IR BLASTER.


  • Mark
    • Admin
    Mar 9, 2018 Link to comment

    If you want to go back to the good old times you need to go back to the Note 4, that was the end of the good old times with Samsung.


  • why buying an older phone when knowing Samsung will stop updating this one one of these days. Samsung gives phones 2years updates. the phone is from 2016
    Again Android pit old story first published in 2016 ... old and bad news.


  •   1
    Deactivated Account Mar 8, 2017 Link to comment

    Samsung galaxy s7..was running marshm..until auto updated to..horrible nougat..scrambled files and of course all backups are dated after that update and NO WAY TO CORRECT IT ALL .. too many changes were NOT for the better.. phone now stutters..latency issues... PIA
    Need a simple way to go back to marshm.
    Def.not happy w so called improvement ??


  • I had the honor to test the S7 Edge for a few hours. The best phone that touched my hands so far. If I had a chance to have it I would definitely go with a modular case so I can give the best care to this baby. Next stop the Pixel :)


  • I was user of huawei phones, but since when huawei phone ditched me i just hate it now, was going out for long trip and just took my backpack over my shoulder and cell was hanged up and unable to work again, later on I decided to go for Iphone 6s plus but after getting reviewed between 6s plus and S7 edge I'm down again to an android phone. you owe me samsung s7 edge :P ;) can't wait to buy.


  • I bought S7 few days ago. Before that i used LG G4 for more than a year. S7 camera is maybe better for low light conditions, but overall G4 is better shooter. And sound quality is really bad, but that is due to water resistant capabilities of device. In every other way S7 is great device. I recommend it to anyone.


  • Thanks for the review. The Samsung Galaxy S7 is a very great high-end device, but it's very expensive too, I only can afford about 1 in 10 of this price. For the budget smartphone, Bluboo Maya with 2GB RAM, 16GB ROM, 13MP camera and Android 6.0 at $69.99 will be good for me, recommended.


  • Okay, so I have the galaxy S5 now and it is seriously on its last leg. Will glitch all of the time, back out of my texts, overheat, and will lag like a solid 45 seconds, or just say everything has "unfortunately stopped". I am stuck between getting the galaxy S7 (is it worth it?), or should I switch over to the iPhone? I obviously love the galaxy since I have always had one, but the iPhones seem more known and more things (such as chargers and cases) are readily available at a reasonable price. IPhones rarely seem to lag and I own other apple products that I can link it up to. I do not use my phone for much more then social media, some small photo editing, text messaging, and for email and sports apps, which every smart phone is capable of doing. Please help, I'm legitimately cannot make a decision. (no sassy/rude responses please and thanks)


    • I think it's about time for a new phone. I like iphone, however, after several updates, iphones are known to lag. As the phone updates more and more the phone starts to lag more and more. I would go with the galaxy s7 or the s7 edge. The s7 edge is the only phone on the review site "CNET" to receive a perfect 5 out of 5, and it's the fastest phone out right now. It will be faster than the iphone 7 as apple doesn't upgrade the hardware until the "S" models. So the iphone "7s" will an upgrade in internal specs not the "7". Also, the s7 edge and the s7 are said to be the best phones ever created pound for pound.


    • my Verizon s5 is on its last legs as well because the battery is really horrible on it. I have to charge it at least twice a day. I cannot count on my phone lasting me the whole day unless I charge it. I unplug my phone around 6 or 6:30 and I will have to charge my phone around 12 or 1. I hate that and I rely on a charger to get though my day. I just want my phone to last me a full day so I don't have to worry about having to charge my phone at all.


      • I would go to Amazon and check out charger cases for Galaxy S5. I purchased a UNU Unity 2800 amp and if u check it out you will find that your phone will still maintain a slim line and not weigh very much more. I bought one and absolutely love it. I have checked out the batteries with moderate and heavy usage and have not had to charge it for 10 hours. Phone is also running faster
        Excellent product for under $30.00.


      • Nice product. I preordered the I-blades modular case since battery is not the only upgrade I'm after. I went with the Enviro Sensor Pack(Air-Quality Monitoring) and if it is good I will get the battery/memory blade. It is different from the rest of the power packs because I can go with numerous modules and use them when I need.
        Cheers


  • I have the S7 and while I love it at times, I also hate it. I've had the phone for almost a month now and the phone has frozen and made this loud noise for about a minute before rebooting. Anyone else having this same issue? It is extremely annoying.


  • What about an IR blaster? I see note 5 dropped it but not s6. Does the s7 have one?


  • This review was written in great detail. I was considering to buy Galaxy S7.


  • What is the voice recording app called? I have an S7, and I MAY have accidentally poked the top mic instead of the microsd tray release. It would be nice to test the response of both mics to make sure I didn't damage my new phone.


  •   4
    Deactivated Account Mar 22, 2016 Link to comment

    The fastest and the easiest way to transfer all the contacts, messages, photos and more from Samsung, HTC, LG, Sony and others to Galaxy S7

    youtube.com/watch?v=U5tH-pCfMSU


  • Here's the deal, why after all this time they can't put a decent Battery in a smartphone? The S7 has a 3000 mah Battery. I have a Note 2 Galaxy and it has 3100 mah, not to mention a 5.5 screen. Lots of real estate. Now I have been waiting for YEARS to upgrade and it just looks like I'll either wait for the S8, S9 or S10, who knows. Or, find a Xiaomi Cell Phone for 1/3 the price and 4000 mah Battery. Fingerprint sensor and all. Are we being overcharged again? I think so.


    • Since you have a Note, what do you think about the newer Note version? I think it's the 5, not completely sure. I have an s5 and I bought the s7 edge and am not a fan of the edge. Debating returning it for an s7, or a Note 5. Thoughts at all? :)


  • Alex Mar 15, 2016 Link to comment

    It's really a great device.I got one.Now want to root it.But there is no way i think.I just found a guide but not sure if that works or not.
    Guide > rootmygalaxy.net/how-to-root-samsung-galaxy-s7-with-supersu-sm-g930f/


  • Yeah if the phone had a removable battery I would probably get it, but I'll probably go for the LG instead since removable batteries are a non-negotiable feature for me.


  • when u here on adroidpit will stop being so Samsung ass kissers ? Samsung made me get my phone away and go for some other for a just simple reason,Samsung maybe is gd,but not the best,has so many unuseful features that just take space in the phone,has many things that come with the phone that take more than half of the space u think u buy with the phone,no sorry for u guys,but is not the best and i am very sure that will never be and as far as i can tel,buying s7 having s6 is the most stupid thing to do for they r pretty much the same,as i said,Samsung is not the best


  • Will there be an Active variant of the S7? No mention of this. I'm a professional horse trainer, love my S5 Active, with 3 hard buttons vs soft, don't really want to give up the Active functionality and advantages.


    • no, there won't. this is ip68 water resistant, put it in a rugged case and your done. if you don't want to give up the active functionality stick with the s5 active which the waterproofing sucks


    • From what I have read, there will most likely be a S7 Active. It will still be an AT&T exclusive though. You can already get cases for them. Dummies models of the phones are sent out ahead of launch to prepare for 3rd party accessories.


  • Andrei Mar 10, 2016 Link to comment

    Excellent and very comprehensive review, gave it a 10! Still, I have one question left. For example, If I'm getting an unlocked model and insert an AT&T SIM, will the phone be automatically locked on AT&T? I've read some articles claiming this. Thanks!


  • The battery issue with me is always most important. I have an S4 and wont give it up because I bought an extra battery I can swap out which has saved me several times. We are travelers and can't always recharge the phone. This was the deal breaker for my non purchase of an iPhone ever. And will be a deal breaker for me here as well. I doubt S4 is sold anymore by cell companies. But if not I'll buy one through a 3rd party if need be. Done that before.


    • If you're already carrying a battery, why not purchase a battery pack which can be used to charge multiple devices. I have a 10000 Mah pack that is about the size of a deck of cards, quite portable and can charge my phone several times.


    • Then I guess this phone isn't for you, stick with the s4. There is a tradeoff of water resistant, premium feel, or removable battery. which do you want? wait until the technology gets that far if you want both


    • The S5 has removable batteries.


  • I got to say that I like it really. But as far as I'm concern (and I migth be wrong due to lack of more knowledge) the Motorola start the back curve in the Moto X design and the always display-on I saw it first with them. I'm not pretty sure if the big companies are used to see other manufacturers ideas and then implement it but is kind of what I have seen :/. Eiither way, S7 keeps look promising.


  • I am thinking of getting one, the S7 Edge


  • Looks very good, I am back in the Samsung camp after bringing back microSD.


  • What sucks is that Samsung the biggest player in the world cant even deliver a 64GB model in Europe! I never seen anything but the 32GB model for the S models here in Sweden. Its pretty lame really. If they did i would already have pre-order this but i never buy a flagship phone with only 32GB where you start at like 19GB due to OS and touchwiz and what not.


    • Who makes these decisions?! 64gb should be the default storage or manufactures should reveal ACUTAL storage since that's what the consumer is really getting. I had such high hopes in buying a Samsung phone through T-Mobile but if the 32gb is the only version for the US, then I'm looking elsewhere.


      • Why do you need 64gb again? When there is cloud storage? AND an expandable micro sd slot?


      • For some of us cloud may not always work. I often travel in areas where there is zero or very limited internet - some of these have large parts parts of their territory being black holes i.e. Afgh, Pak, Yemen, Bangladesh, Myanmar. But yes the SD should help.


  • For the price it's not worth an upgrade.Camera still sticks out, still that useless touch wiz, still no stereo speakers


  • Samsung Galaxy S7 & S7 Edge 3d Model - Element3D
    3docean.net/item/element3d-samsung-galaxy-s7-s7-edge/15163806


  • I just picked up my Samsung S7 and really impressed with the overall change.

    My only problem is the Always On Display does not work for me. If I enable the option in the display settings, all I get is a green screen which looks like a corrupted file.

    I have tried to factory wipe the device bit still not change. So the always on display feature does not work for me. 😟


  • They got a great deal going on right now for both the Samsung S7 and S7 Edge here in the Philippines. It comes with a virtual reality gear from Samsung too. I think I'm more excited about the VR gear.


  • After 4 years in the Apple camp i'm switching to Android. I'm really excited about this one :D


    • I have an iPad and iPad mini. Would never buy an iPhone though. Have Galaxy 4. Pry it out of my cold dead hands.


    • you will never go back once you experience how much freedom and choices/customization you get and less frustration with the restrictive and closed apple ecosystem


  • Just received my S7 (upgraded from S6). Overall impression is that it’s fine, but nothing really exceptional over the S6. Yes, it has some better specs, but in daily use you can't tell a difference and some aspects are worse.

    There are several annoying changes. For example, they removed the perfectly good stock music and video players. Now you have to go download them, and when you do they no longer function with S-Voice. They also don’t take whichever skin you happen to like because they are separate apps instead of native ones.

    It’s also less visually appealing, imo, since they removed the bright bezel around the home button and made the top speaker black instead of bright (btw, the top speaker protrudes slightly from the face whereas it was flush on the S6). You wouldn’t think these changes would make much of a difference, but the face of the S7 (at least my Black Onyx version) is now just a big, black, boring, screen with no hint of being an upscale product. At a cost of several hundred dollars I'd prefer my devices to be visually attractive, but that's just me. The black S6 had the bright home button bezel and speaker which matched the metal on the case, and there was a very subtle blue tint surrounding the screen which made for a high-quality look.

    Direct comparisons of photos taken with the S6 and S7 does not reveal any major subjective improvements, and the loss of the 16:9 option is annoying. Video is less smooth on the S7, and the front facing camera on the S7 takes noticeably less sharp pictures.

    The expandable storage is a plus, but I had plenty of space on my 64Gb S6. Now they’ve decided to only offer a 32Gb S7, which makes the expandable storage a ncessesity, but then they stupidly decided not to enable app storage on the SD card, so it’s not integrated and you can only put photos or other files there.

    There’s no IR blaster, so for those of us who used it it’s another annoying deletion.

    The multi-screen feature (having two apps open on the same screen) doesn’t work. It says it’s available and the help menu tells you how to do it, but when you follow the instructions it simply doesn’t work. How stupid is that? Worked fine on my S6.

    Yes, the battery is a little bigger. Yes, it has a slightly faster processor. Yes, you can drip some water on it. But overall the S7 is unimpressive and certainly not worth upgrading to from an S6. Don’t waste your money if you’re a happy S6 user, you’ll be disappointed.

    I wish I could be in the design meetings with Samsung execs to save them from themselves when they are making idiotic decisions about their flagship devices. Seriously, someone in a meeting at sometime during the process had to say, “You know what, instead of making the S7 something that S5 and S6 users will absolutely want to rush out and purchase, and something that would sway Apple users to consider switching, let’s annoy our customers by removing capabilites, making the user experience more frustrating, and providing an overall “meh” device.” And everyone else had to say, “Yep, that’s a really good idea!”


    • See dude... You made a cell phone mistake. The industry works on a 2 year cycle. All the even phones have features and the odd phones the S3, S5 S7 all have their own set of features. So the industry caters to each group. The 5 was water proof the 6 was not but now the 7 is and it's rumored the S8 won't be. Why ? Because of the cycle. You got off your cycle so you won't be greatly happy because this is unfamiliar territory. The industry has us brainwashed as I am as well thinking I need to get this S7 cause "I'm due..." I've had my s5 for 2 years now. I don't see this as an upgrade however. It's the iPhone in a Samsung name...sorry... It's an upgrade from the 6 because I did not like the 6 but neither to me are an upgrade... That is just how I feel. And what happened to the pressure sensitive screen... Shame on Samsung for letting Apple get that edge over on them.


      • Agreed Dan, if you are still rocking your s5 I can recommend this pure note rom if you have your s5 rooted, gives you some great features like the screen on the s6 edge which works well! Running on 5.1.1 with no issues in v5.

        Just search xda Pure N5 Port and download v5. Make sure you update bootloader and modem.


    • Duder Mar 3, 2016 Link to comment

      "There are several annoying changes. For example, they removed the perfectly good stock music and video players. Now you have to go download them, and when you do they no longer function with S-Voice. They also don’t take whichever skin you happen to like because they are separate apps instead of native ones."

      You have to be kidding me? Google is forcing this crap off of Samsung phones. You should be glad. S-Voice is TERRIBLE and you already have google now


    • Buddy, you can still move apps to the sd card, it just looks different. When you've gone to the app in question under app manager, just tap the bit under the two buttons which says 'storage' with the quantity being used and it'll pop up with an option over whether to use the phone or sd card.

      On your other points, they reduced the number of stock apps because everyone complained about bloatwear, I think the all black look is awesome and really premium looking, 16:9 is still there, just lower res because of the changes made to improve auto focus and sharpness. My ear speaker is totally flush and multi screen works just fine. I agree on the ir blaster, but it's a small loss and not a feature I used often at all as I found the remote clunky and I'm not a fan of the new peel remote.

      I've gone from s5 to s7 but to be honest there's so much about the s6 that was a step back from the s5 I think this answers all that and more. My only disappointment is that I got a scratch on the back already on the supposedly scratch resistant gorilla glass.


      • I highly, highly recommend getting an Invisishield put on it :) I always have the shield on the front of the phone + a case, but now that these phones are all glass front and back, I'm going to get one on both sides. I'm sorry you got a scratch on your brand new phone. That's always a heart breaker.


    • You looked at the pics and videos before buying? You also had a choice to go to a carrier and test out the phone yourself and see what it looks like in person. If so that is your fault for making an uniformed purchase, return it if you don't like it, simple


  • "The biggest concern for Samsung right now is where it goes from here."
    Easy, make the phone in 64GB or even 128GB and sell them in the real world. A flagship that has only 32GB is pathetic.
    The S7 edge looks epic and the hardware is there but sadly it has to little memory for my taste.


    • Dave Mar 2, 2016 Link to comment

      Very true - and if you start recording in 4k, watch that space vanish in a flash! I still don't know why all these top end devices are being so tight with storage space! We all know it costs next to nothing now so they've no real excuse - though here's one to keep an eye on:
      Price of 32gb model
      Price of 64gb model
      Price of 128gb model (if they release one)

      The thing is, with all the new phones coming out, nothing has really stood out compared to the last few years products.
      Bar the fingerprint gimmick, better resolution screens, camera tricks - nothing really has that "Wow" factor or makes me want to part with my current device.

      Guess I'm just one of those people that a sales person hates... Ahahahaha


    • C M Mar 2, 2016 Link to comment

      What does it matter? it has an SD card slot that can go up to 200 gigs. Same as it wasn't a big deal i got a 32 gig HTC one, i just bought a 150gig SD card and it's been no issue.


      • Can you install programs on it? Answer is NO! A premium phone that has like 19GB memory for games and apps just sucks.


      • Answer is YES! Just download GL to SD and you're done. If you don't wanna root, it is your problem as every android phone should be rooted as soon as you buy it. ( ͡o ͜ʖ ͡o)


    • I agree....the measly 32GB is a joke. I wouldn't even consider this phone if it was priced at half of what it is. The new Xiaomi device comes with 128GB...I'm keeping my eyes on that.


    • Exactly what i write in every review, sadly the reviewers are not being honest on turning the blind eye. Its really pathetic that a big company like Samsung cant/wont make atleast a 64GB model. Maybe they make it but they sell them in a very limited regions. I never seen one here in Sweden atleast. This is the worst thing about Samsung/LG phones.
      SD card wont cut if for installing apps and these days programs getting bigger.
      I will not pay this much cash for a 32GB. Heck i would have payed the premium for 32GB extra but why Samsung refuses to make them is beyond me. Maybe people are buying the 32GB just as well so they dont care but for people with a little more demand we are out of luck.


  • sorry but an tu tu benchmarks are not a true reflecting of what a phone can do


  • Luka Mar 1, 2016 Link to comment

    Do you think it's worth the upgrade from the S6?


    • I don't think it's worth updating from the S5. Samsung took away great features from the S5 AND packaged it in the S6 then brought it back for the S7 but left out the IR blaster. Booo. Then they will put it back on the S8 and claim they listen to their customers. The only thing I see is that the camera focuses extremely fast. I can't justify buying it for only a camera. The cost of it I could actually buy a real camera specifically made to be a camera not a phone with a camera specifically made to leave stuff out so they have somewhere to go the next release. Release a phone for the sake of something new on the market.same dog doo. But arguably the best phones on the market today for sure.


    • Luka Mar 3, 2016 Link to comment

      I decided not to upgrade. I'm got 6.0.1 and since it's the same UI same everything I don't feel like spending the sane amount of money for just a spec bump. Let's see what comes out next...


  • Joseph Feb 29, 2016 Link to comment

    I haven't read all the comments but please note that (at least through Verizon Wireless) the VR Headset is NOT included if you decide to pay $199 and take a two year contract. You must agree to pay the ~$30 each month to get the headset. Crappy deal.


    • If you go through Best Buy with your Verizon contract price purchase, you still get the Gear VR and 64GB sd card deal.


  • IR blaster this,IR blaster that..like any sane person ia going to pay 700 euros for that,when there are universal controlers for 2 euros.It is a useful feature,but come on ppl..
    Non-removable battery?Thank you,but no.
    Battery life up to two days?Yeah,sure.I ran to get S5 the very first day it got out,lured by the Samsung promisses of 11+ hour battery life with heavy duty operations,and 24+ hours with moderate usage.It is a 11+ ,but only if I disable sync,put the phone to power saving,etc.What a shocker that they lied !!! LOL
    Camera?Ppl,if you really want a good camera that can do almost everything you need,go buy a real camera.
    About overheating-same promisses were made about S5..guess what?They lied.
    So,I'm never ever gonna pay 700€ or so at the first glance.
    Perhaps not even after several months.
    Samsung will have to work very hard to convince me to buy any of their products again.


    • First off, you're not paying all that money just for an IR blaster, you're paying for the the whole phone that, as an additional feature, has an IR blaster. Which is much more convenient than buying a regular IR blaster. The whole point of the evolution of smartphones is that they are replacing many other separate pieces of tech we use otherwise.
      As far as the camera aspect goes, it's the same deal. We're trying to get phones to be capable of doing things that other objects have done in the past by themselves. For the battery, Samsung has chosen to start using premium materials such as glass and metal, so making a removable battery with that kind of build makes it much less of a luxury feel because it's no longer one solid piece. I'm not sure what you're trying to say about overheating so I can't really answer your questions there.


  • Baia Baia kike también escribe en Androidpit.com


  • No innovation to Touchwiz, Wow.


  • I was wondering; my upgrade date through Verizon is April 2016. (Currently own 5s) can I preorder and take advantage of the promo or get stuck paying the monthly fee fee? Probably not....as usual, Verizon sticks it to everyone
    🔪💵


  • Samsung Pay is available in the US and has been since 2015


  • About the missing IR blaster, I have a solution for that.

    It's a Kickstarter campaign soon to be launch,

    We will support also the S7, and then you will have the IR blaster on S7. That way you will enjoy the wonderful S7 and still have IR in your smartphone.

    You can check it out here:
    eyekickstarter.com


    • This actually looks really interesting! It would be a good solution since all OEMS decided to ditch the IR blaster which is a very convenient feature.


    • Interesting...I think I would actually prefer a device located near all my ir receiving devices that the app could pair with over wifi. Not crazy about adding something to the back of the phone. Have you considered something like that?


  • Cool


  • SD card back in play, I am Samsung again!


    • I have the Samsung Galaxy S4. I thought I would never buy another Samsung again after they took away the SD card feature in the S6. I am very glad they brought back the SD card. For me, removable battery is not as important for as the SD card, although it has been very useful to be able to have and use cheap Anker batteries to provide additional power. However, with cheap power sticks, that is not needed as much.


    • Unfortunately them taking away the IR blaster kills the deal for me :(
      I use that every day on my S5... I have my fan, stereo, tv, and a few other devices all on 1 master virtual remote. It can also pause netflix when I get a phone call :D


    • But the micro SD card support is incomplete! What does that even mean?


  • Both the S7 and the S7 Edge looks really great, but the S7 Edge is a tad bit sexier with its curved display sides. I see from here versus.com/en/samsung-galaxy-s7-vs-samsung-galaxy-s7-edge that there is not much to differentiate one with the other except from the larger and curved display of the Edge. Though the 600mAh more battery power of the Edge might prove itself useful even if that's just small percentage of difference. Nonetheless, if I were to choose (that's if I hav the money to buy one) I'd choose the S7 Edge.


  • Could we have an unbiased review from someone who is not in love with Samsung? Still got that god awful ugly camera that dosent stick out so much! so that's OK then it will only rock backwards and forwards half as much when you place it on a flat surface, still no stereo speakers, still that rubbish touchwiz and the battery probably as bad as it was before? Why is there so much fuss about having an airblaster on your phone when i buy a television it comes with a remote which does a far better job at controlling your TV than a remote on your phone?


    • I have not used a tv remote in two years , I use my GS5 it has an "IR blaster" I never have to say hey where's the remote .. We all know how frustrating that is .


      • I control my tv, my sound bar, my xfinity dvr all from my phone, since i have phone in my hand or pocket all the time its much more convenient than using 3 remotes to control each of them. Not to mention the hassle of searching the remotes every time especially when they are lost under the couch cushions :).
        Peel is super cool, i can also search for content across channels, look at tv schedule on my phone, decide what to see and easily get to it. Once you get used to it, you will know how hard it is to live without it. I will not buy galaxy s7 just for the missing IR blaster.


    • One how is the phone going to rock backwards and forwards with a case on it (and if u don't have a case on it your retarded) stereo speakers would be good however that is what bluetooth speakers are for. TouchWiz is irrelevant just download a new OS, i have never use TouchWiz and i have had all galaxies except the s6. Lost TV remotes is the reason for the blaster, it's a useful tool when u lose or break remotes or don't want a lot of remotes around. Samsung hater only complaint about irrelevant stuff, make a real complaint and you point might be valid


    • You don`t have a wife or a child :)


  • Frank Feb 23, 2016 Link to comment

    Could you pls explain what the ir-blaster is used for?
    Thx in advance ☺


  • kike I can't help but wonder are you a Samsung supporter ? Under bad should be listed "no removable battery" also does this have an ir blaster I can't seem to find it in the specs .I have an GS5 and it has a ir blaster . I use this functionally for a remote . Samsung has a didn't listen to their customers problem . Well I heard that Nokia gets their rights back end of this year and it's been announced that they are gonna be manufacturing smart phones again just maybe they might get it right if not I'm gonna be looking for another GS5 once again
    No sdcard No removable battery NO ir blaster NO DEAL!!!!!! I'm not buying ever! you watch sales will be low ...


    • The S7 has a sd card and irblaster, it do sucks to not have a removable battery, however with a good portable charger, makes up for that problem.


      • How did you find the specs on the ir blaster ? yeah I have a 10,00 mah a 4,000 mah battery banks and a spare battery plus other smaller battery banks , I'm just ticked off that Samsung did not listen to their customer base . I think if we compromise as consumers one day they will buff and polish a turd and folks will buy it , that's why company's are getting away with selling sub par products passing then off as the cats meow . Why down grade the camra from 16 mp to 12mp , my S5 had a 16 mp . I would like to see a camera review of the S7 .


      • Seriously are you a noob or just ignorant. Larger megapixels does not imply better... a phone made out of such materials as glass and metal can't be sturdy enough to allow a removable battery...
        Do you read or something??


  • NO IR BLASTER... FUCK SAMSUNG, LG G5 IT IS


  • No IR Blaster, again, WTF @Samsung #Galaxygettingsmaller.


  • All your comments are valued by me. As I just like the gagety parts of phones. I don't use them for business as I am disabled, I really need to make a call real fast and watch tv, plex, and Netflix. I mostly text and enjoy apps. If anyone could help me to understand better what is best for me? Id be greater appreciated? I love a the Gosms app but on my s6 egde I can't send or receive picture text which is a must for me! The new s7edge + just sounds so great to me. Am I being too naive? Please help? I don't want too waist money I don't really have. My husband loves to make me happy. I just want to be smart. I do love look and feel. And I need a bigger phone due to poor eyesight. Help?


  • I'm not impressed at all. In fact I had been saving my upgrade for the S7 edge. I have the s6 edge plus and the note 5. I believe I'll be holding onto them for the time being. Don't see anything that is toe curling that's making me want to jump up and have to have one. Taking away the IR blaster is disturbing. ....


    • I totally agree. Can't use my Xbox Smartglass app, my peel app, no ir blaster, next round and I'm going with another brand.


  • N.T Feb 22, 2016 Link to comment

    samsung is one idiot for removing the ir blaster


  • Bad - Removed 16:9 widescreen pics at max resolution


  • Does it have it blaster?I use them a lot.


  • I like it but I think they could improve on a lot of content. LG is really good now and LG is get ing better. We'll see -_-


  • Well I am impressed with the S7 features. Water resistant, micro SD slot, finger print scanner all check the boxes on my wishlist, with the only one not checked is a removable battery, but then that's what portable battery packs take care of of which I have 3. This is sounding pretty good to me right now but I want to see how the camera performs IRL. Can't wait to see the full reviews.


  • Mark
    • Admin
    Feb 21, 2016 Link to comment

    I do not like the all glass design, it is to fragile for me. I like the IP68 certification but not at the cost of the removable battery, which is a must for me. I don't like wireless charging so it wins no point there. Until they bring back the removable battery I will be moving to LG.


  • AdD Feb 21, 2016 Link to comment

    At first, I was very impressed by the changes to the S7, but I am very busy and use my phone constantly.
    Requiring 1.5 - 2 hours to charge & NOT having the option of a replaceable battery makes this a NO GO. Add to that, no Dual SIM, and it's not even a consideration.
    I was actually optimistic that they were listening to consumers on the mistakes they made in the S6. How sad that they only listened to half of what people asked for and instead opted for useless, trendy gimicks that the majority of users don't care about.
    Built-in wireless charging? Ok, whatever. Who has 2 hours to wait for their phone to charge?
    Guess it's back to "the drawing board" even before it's released.


  • We continue with the same problem of not being Dual Sim, to business mode is very important. Apparently they launch this model to the side of Asia.


  • Continuamos com o mesmo problema de não ser Dual Sim, para modo empresarial é muito importante. Ao que parece lançam esse modelo para os lado da Ásia.


  • Do you know how much an unlocked s7edge plus may cost? All my phones I purchase are unlocked and my provider is metro PC's..