New Learner.. Not able to run app and it force closes.

  • Replies:5
vaibhav saxena
  • Forum posts: 3

Dec 17, 2012, 9:54:00 AM via Website

watching android app development from eclipse.
There is no error in development phase but when running it , the LOGCAT gives the below error:

12-17 13:50:17.448: W/dalvikvm(729): threadid=1: thread exiting with uncaught exception (group=0x40a13300)
12-17 13:50:17.478: E/AndroidRuntime(729): FATAL EXCEPTION: main
12-17 13:50:17.478: E/AndroidRuntime(729): java.lang.RuntimeException: Unable to start activity ComponentInfo{com.thenewboston.vrsaxena/com.thenewboston.vrsaxena.StartingPoint}: java.lang.ClassCastException: android.widget.TextView cannot be cast to android.widget.Button
12-17 13:50:17.478: E/AndroidRuntime(729): at android.app.ActivityThread.performLaunchActivity(ActivityThread.java:2059)
12-17 13:50:17.478: E/AndroidRuntime(729): at android.app.ActivityThread.handleLaunchActivity(ActivityThread.java:2084)
12-17 13:50:17.478: E/AndroidRuntime(729): at android.app.ActivityThread.access$600(ActivityThread.java:130)
12-17 13:50:17.478: E/AndroidRuntime(729): at android.app.ActivityThread$H.handleMessage(ActivityThread.java:1195)
12-17 13:50:17.478: E/AndroidRuntime(729): at android.os.Handler.dispatchMessage(Handler.java:99)
12-17 13:50:17.478: E/AndroidRuntime(729): at android.os.Looper.loop(Looper.java:137)
12-17 13:50:17.478: E/AndroidRuntime(729): at android.app.ActivityThread.main(ActivityThread.java:4745)
12-17 13:50:17.478: E/AndroidRuntime(729): at java.lang.reflect.Method.invokeNative(Native Method)
12-17 13:50:17.478: E/AndroidRuntime(729): at java.lang.reflect.Method.invoke(Method.java:511)
12-17 13:50:17.478: E/AndroidRuntime(729): at com.android.internal.os.ZygoteInit$MethodAndArgsCaller.run(ZygoteInit.java:786)
12-17 13:50:17.478: E/AndroidRuntime(729): at com.android.internal.os.ZygoteInit.main(ZygoteInit.java:553)
12-17 13:50:17.478: E/AndroidRuntime(729): at dalvik.system.NativeStart.main(Native Method)
12-17 13:50:17.478: E/AndroidRuntime(729): Caused by: java.lang.ClassCastException: android.widget.TextView cannot be cast to android.widget.Button
12-17 13:50:17.478: E/AndroidRuntime(729): at com.thenewboston.vrsaxena.StartingPoint.onCreate(StartingPoint.java:22)
12-17 13:50:17.478: E/AndroidRuntime(729): at android.app.Activity.performCreate(Activity.java:5008)
12-17 13:50:17.478: E/AndroidRuntime(729): at android.app.Instrumentation.callActivityOnCreate(Instrumentation.java:1079)
12-17 13:50:17.478: E/AndroidRuntime(729): at android.app.ActivityThread.performLaunchActivity(ActivityThread.java:2023)
12-17 13:50:17.478: E/AndroidRuntime(729): ... 11 more


Please HELP... :(

Reply
vaibhav saxena
  • Forum posts: 3

Dec 17, 2012, 10:24:54 AM via Website

Just for additional information:
I am using
AVD - Platform 4.1 , API Level 16, CPU/ABI ARM (armeabi-v7a)

Please let me know if you want some more information for resolving the issue.
I am watching videos from EDU ( LifeLong Learning ) The NewBoston android application series and just made the app from watching the 10th video.
Its a simple Buttons app with add and subtract values.

There are no errors while Building, its just not able to run and gives the above error in LOGCAT in eclipse as shown above.

Reply
Andreas Weichert
  • Forum posts: 287

Dec 17, 2012, 1:21:20 PM via Website

Debug step by step inside onCreate.
I guess your findViewById searches for the wrong widget. (cast TextView to Button)

— modified on Dec 17, 2012, 1:22:07 PM

Reply
vaibhav saxena
  • Forum posts: 3

Dec 17, 2012, 10:43:36 PM via Website

Thanks a lot Andreas .
I was using display variable as Button instead of TextView.

It solved the problem and its running.. Thanks a lot again.. :)

Reply
ISA Nexus
  • Forum posts: 21

Dec 27, 2012, 7:08:40 PM via Website

You are trying to cast a TextView into a Button. Check your xml layout (look the id of the widget)

java.lang.ClassCastException: android.widget.TextView cannot be cast to android.widget.Button

Reply
christusvalerian
  • Forum posts: 4

Feb 4, 2013, 9:36:54 AM via Website

Use try{
}catch..You will be able to find missing element in the Android emulator,through that you can debug your code,

Reply