The first application consulting

• Replies:1
AdamJohn
  • Forum posts: 1

Apr 25, 2016, 10:35:30 AM via Website

Hey,
I have an idea for application which I think is great and doesn't exist so far so I wanted to start developing it.
I'm a first year student for computer science but like most first year students - I've never done anything like this before.
The application , in it final revision , will need to serve both iOS and Android users , but as first step - I thought to develop it only for Android.
I have 2 reasons for developing for Android first:

1. I own an Android device (LG G3) as well as all of my friends.
  2. I already took 2 courses in Java in collage so I have a little background.

Here is a short description , in general , of the application functionality:

The app should allow users to search (using many different filters) in a database , add records to the database (but not delete) , rank the records and add comments.

Here is a short description of what the app requires and what's not:
1. The app needs to have database.
2. The app should looks good: The UI should be rich and inviting.
3. The app doesn't require any very special effects or animation.

I started making an internet research as for where/how to start.
I understand that there are 3 implementations for mobile applications: Native , Hybrid and Web.
I read a little bit about each of them but I can't decide which one is best for my requirement and knowledge so I would like to hear what you think.

Here are my general and specific questions that I would like that you will help me answer:

1. Consider that this is my first app development on one hand and that I already have some knowledge on Java - Which implementation should I choose? Native/Hybrid/Web?

2. I understand that a rich UI is best achived by Native app - is that ture? Is this a good enough reson to go on Native app development?