We use cookies on our websites. Information about cookies and how you can object to the use of cookies at any time or end their use can be found in our privacy policy.
UPDATE: Samsung Galaxy Users to Receive New Jay-Z Album for Free
Samsung Galaxy Samsung Apple 3 min read 1 Comment

UPDATE: Samsung Galaxy Users to Receive New Jay-Z Album for Free

Many in the tech and music world were waiting with anticipation when we reported that Samsung and rapper Jay-Z were about to ink an endorsement deal with each other. More was revealed about the true nature of the partnership during game 5 of the NBA finals on Sunday night.

jay z
Jay-Z has done a deal with Samsung which will see Galaxy users receive a free copy of the new Jay-Z album / © jayz.de


During the fifth game of the NBA finals a commercial aired which showed Jay-Z in a room with super producers, Swizz Beatz, Pharrell Williams, Rick Rubin and Timbaland.

The commercial, though, was actually a Samsung commercial. The tech giant and the mogul rapper have teamed up on an ambitious business plan which will see Samsung purchase 1 million copies of the upcoming Jay-Z album.

The albums will then be distributed to Samsung Galaxy users exclusively through an app which will be available for download on Google Play on June 24th.

The first million users to download the app will get the new Jay-Z album, Magna Carta Holy Grail, for free three days before its scheduled release date on July 4th, 2013.

This seems to confirm our suspicions that the deal would give users of the Samsung Galaxy phones access to exclusive content from Jay-Z and perhaps in future from his stable of artists which include Calvin Harris and J. Cole.

It also seems as if the move is for Samsung to better compete with Apple which announced a new iTunes Radio service along with the new iOS7 this past week and said that some releases will be available to iTunes users before they were available to the general public.

You can view the commercial that aired during the NBA basketball game below.

Also tell us what you think about the move from Samsung by commenting on this post.

[Update 6.24.2013]

Some users are reporting that they have access to the app that will release the Jay-z album ahead of the July 4th release.

To see if you're among the lucky few with access to the album, check it out in the Google Play Store. Right now, most reports are coming in as Galaxy S3, Galaxy S4, and Galaxy Note 2 devices as being able to access the application. Right now, the app is little more than a countdown timer with some promotional videos included within. On July 4th, you can use the application on your Galaxy device to download the entire album.

The track list for the album is as follows:

1. Picasso Baby
2. Heaven
3. Versus
4. Tom Ford
5. Beach Is Better
6. fu*kWithMeYouKnowIGotIt
7. Oceans
8. F.U.T.W.
9. Part II (On The Run)
10. BBC
11. La Familia
12. Jay-Z Blue
13. Nickles & Dimes

1 Comment

Write new comment:
All changes will be saved. No drafts are saved when editing