This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. OK
1 min read 12 Shares 4 comments

Concerned about your privacy? WhatsApp beta lets you disable read receipt blue ticks

Just a few days ago, WhatsApp upset many of its users by introducing a feature that shows when a message has been read. It was something that lots of people were unhappy with, and we showed you various techniques for disabling them. Now a new beta version of the messaging tool includes the option to disable the read receipt blue ticks, but you won’t find this version in the Play Store.

androidpit whatsapp teaser 3
If you feel WhatsApp's read receipts invade your privacy, you can disable the blue ticks. © ANDROIDPIT

To get hold of the beta version of the app, you'll have to head to the WhatsApp website. Download the APK from the website, transfer it to your phone and get it installed – you need to allow the installation of apps from unknown sources. Once you're up and running go to Setting and tap account followed by Privacy.

whatsapp blue tick
A simple check box is all that controls WhatsApp's blue ticks. © ANDROIDPIT

Uncheck the option labelled Read receipts and hit back to save the settings. That's all there is to it! From now on, there is no need to share whether or not you have read messages when they arrive

Were you a fan of the way the blue ticks worked, or have you opted to disable the feature?

4 comments

Write new comment:
  • Sorry about that... the last couple of words are clipped off! The full text is: "If you turn off read receipts, you won't be able to see read receipts from other people. Read receipts are always sent for group chats"

  • My1 Nov 14, 2014 Link to comment

    what's the full text of the read tick warning?

    but it's good that you cant see the blue ticks from other ppl when you disable them.

    • Yeah. It will keep a balance as to what is more important for the person, hiding their own blue ticks or looking at others.

    • Sorry about that... the last couple of words are clipped off! The full text is: "If you turn off read receipts, you won't be able to see read receipts from other people. Read receipts are always sent for group chats"

This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. More info

Got it!