What must do to run in bigger display after run first in small display

  • Replies:24
Leonidas Savvides
  • Forum posts: 45

May 27, 2012, 6:35:35 PM via Website

After run an Android App defined in main.xml in visual layout in Eclipse, as 3.7in HVGA, What must do to run in bigger display? I shutdown emulator, and tried modify 3.7in but display is the same, is emulator needed special shutdown? Is needed change and AVD used?

how appear in eclipse adt, line numbers in code view?

— modified on May 27, 2012, 7:26:53 PM

Reply
Leonidas Savvides
  • Forum posts: 45

May 29, 2012, 9:53:52 PM via Website

Leonidas Savvides
After run an Android App defined in main.xml in visual layout in Eclipse, as 3.7in HVGA, What must do to run in bigger display? I shutdown emulator, and tried modify 3.7in but display is the same, is emulator needed special shutdown? Is needed change and AVD used?

how appear in eclipse adt, line numbers in code view?

How create a file.apk from an Android source files? When I upgrade an apk App eg from 1.0 to 2.0, all the apk's files get replaced?

Reply
Jeremiah
  • Forum posts: 775

May 31, 2012, 12:18:15 AM via Website

Leonidas Savvides
After run an Android App defined in main.xml in visual layout in Eclipse, as 3.7in HVGA, What must do to run in bigger display? I shutdown emulator, and tried modify 3.7in but display is the same, is emulator needed special shutdown? Is needed change and AVD used?

how appear in eclipse adt, line numbers in code view?

I've not had much luck setting the display size of an avd manually. Try changing it the display size to one of the preset sizes. In eclicpse click on window -> AVD Manager -> On the avd manager select your avd click edit -> Under Skin click BUILT IN, choose one from the drop down box. QVGA = very small, HVGA= 320x480, WVGA = 800x400.

To get the line numbers on your code in eclipse, click Window -> Preferences -> General -> Editors -> Text Editors, select Show Line Numbers.

Reply
Jeremiah
  • Forum posts: 775

May 31, 2012, 12:25:27 AM via Website

Leonidas Savvides
Leonidas Savvides
After run an Android App defined in main.xml in visual layout in Eclipse, as 3.7in HVGA, What must do to run in bigger display? I shutdown emulator, and tried modify 3.7in but display is the same, is emulator needed special shutdown? Is needed change and AVD used?

how appear in eclipse adt, line numbers in code view?

How create a file.apk from an Android source files? When I upgrade an apk App eg from 1.0 to 2.0, all the apk's files get replaced?

To create your .apk for publishing on the market you need to export it in eclipse. Go to File -> Export

You will need your own public key to sign it with. See info here: http://developer.android.com/guide/publishing/app-signing.html

Reply
Eric McBride
  • Forum posts: 1,790

Jun 6, 2012, 1:25:44 PM via Website

You're the **ckin man Jeremiah B)

Reply
Leonidas Savvides
  • Forum posts: 45

Jun 6, 2012, 10:21:16 PM via Website

I have found that the ONLY way run emulator is HVGA in avd manager + activity main.xml to 3.7in WVGA(NEXUS ONE)... Well?

[2012-06-06 23:13:41 - SDK Manager] Snapshot image already present, was not changed.
[2012-06-06 23:13:41 - SDK Manager] Updated AVD 'Hello233' based on Android 2.3.3, ARM (armeabi) processor,
[2012-06-06 23:13:41 - SDK Manager] with the following hardware config:
[2012-06-06 23:13:41 - SDK Manager] hw.lcd.density=240
[2012-06-06 23:13:41 - SDK Manager] vm.heapSize=24
[2012-06-06 23:13:41 - SDK Manager] hw.ramSize=256
[2012-06-06 23:14:12 - FlagQuizGame] ------------------------------
[2012-06-06 23:14:12 - FlagQuizGame] Android Launch!
[2012-06-06 23:14:12 - FlagQuizGame] adb is running normally.
[2012-06-06 23:14:12 - FlagQuizGame] Performing com.deitel.flagquizgame.FlagQuizGame activity launch
[2012-06-06 23:14:12 - FlagQuizGame] Automatic Target Mode: launching new emulator with compatible AVD 'Hello233'
[2012-06-06 23:14:12 - FlagQuizGame] Launching a new emulator with Virtual Device 'Hello233'
[2012-06-06 23:14:13 - Emulator] emulator: ERROR: Unable to load VM from snapshot. The snapshot has been saved for a different hardware configuration.
[2012-06-06 23:16:07 - FlagQuizGame] ------------------------------
[2012-06-06 23:16:07 - FlagQuizGame] Android Launch!
[2012-06-06 23:16:07 - FlagQuizGame] adb is running normally.
[2012-06-06 23:16:07 - FlagQuizGame] Performing com.deitel.flagquizgame.FlagQuizGame activity launch
[2012-06-06 23:16:07 - FlagQuizGame] Automatic Target Mode: launching new emulator with compatible AVD 'Hello233'
[2012-06-06 23:16:07 - FlagQuizGame] Launching a new emulator with Virtual Device 'Hello233'
[2012-06-06 23:16:07 - Emulator] emulator: ERROR: Unable to load VM from snapshot. The snapshot has been saved for a different hardware configuration.
[2012-06-06 23:16:54 - FlagQuizGame] ------------------------------
[2012-06-06 23:16:54 - FlagQuizGame] Android Launch!
[2012-06-06 23:16:54 - FlagQuizGame] adb is running normally.
[2012-06-06 23:16:54 - FlagQuizGame] Performing com.deitel.flagquizgame.FlagQuizGame activity launch
[2012-06-06 23:16:54 - FlagQuizGame] Automatic Target Mode: launching new emulator with compatible AVD 'Hello233'
[2012-06-06 23:16:54 - FlagQuizGame] Launching a new emulator with Virtual Device 'Hello233'
[2012-06-06 23:16:55 - Emulator] emulator: ERROR: Unable to load VM from snapshot. The snapshot has been saved for a different hardware configuration.
[2012-06-06 23:17:42 - SDK Manager] Snapshot image already present, was not changed.
[2012-06-06 23:17:42 - SDK Manager] Updated AVD 'Hello233' based on Android 2.3.3, ARM (armeabi) processor,
[2012-06-06 23:17:42 - SDK Manager] with the following hardware config:
[2012-06-06 23:17:42 - SDK Manager] hw.lcd.density=240
[2012-06-06 23:17:42 - SDK Manager] vm.heapSize=24
[2012-06-06 23:17:42 - SDK Manager] hw.ramSize=256
[2012-06-06 23:17:50 - FlagQuizGame] ------------------------------
[2012-06-06 23:17:50 - FlagQuizGame] Android Launch!
[2012-06-06 23:17:50 - FlagQuizGame] adb is running normally.
[2012-06-06 23:17:50 - FlagQuizGame] Performing com.deitel.flagquizgame.FlagQuizGame activity launch
[2012-06-06 23:17:50 - FlagQuizGame] Automatic Target Mode: launching new emulator with compatible AVD 'Hello233'
[2012-06-06 23:17:50 - FlagQuizGame] Launching a new emulator with Virtual Device 'Hello233'
[2012-06-06 23:17:51 - Emulator] emulator: ERROR: Unable to load VM from snapshot. The snapshot has been saved for a different hardware configuration.
[2012-06-06 23:18:04 - SDK Manager] Snapshot image already present, was not changed.
[2012-06-06 23:18:04 - SDK Manager] Updated AVD 'Hello233' based on Android 2.3.3, ARM (armeabi) processor,
[2012-06-06 23:18:04 - SDK Manager] with the following hardware config:
[2012-06-06 23:18:04 - SDK Manager] hw.lcd.density=160
[2012-06-06 23:18:04 - SDK Manager] vm.heapSize=24
[2012-06-06 23:18:04 - SDK Manager] hw.ramSize=256
[2012-06-06 23:18:16 - FlagQuizGame] ------------------------------
[2012-06-06 23:18:16 - FlagQuizGame] Android Launch!
[2012-06-06 23:18:16 - FlagQuizGame] adb is running normally.
[2012-06-06 23:18:16 - FlagQuizGame] Performing com.deitel.flagquizgame.FlagQuizGame activity launch
[2012-06-06 23:18:16 - FlagQuizGame] Automatic Target Mode: launching new emulator with compatible AVD 'Hello233'
[2012-06-06 23:18:16 - FlagQuizGame] Launching a new emulator with Virtual Device 'Hello233'
[2012-06-06 23:18:24 - FlagQuizGame] New emulator found: emulator-5554
[2012-06-06 23:18:24 - FlagQuizGame] Waiting for HOME ('android.process.acore') to be launched...
[2012-06-06 23:18:45 - FlagQuizGame] HOME is up on device 'emulator-5554'
[2012-06-06 23:18:45 - FlagQuizGame] Uploading FlagQuizGame.apk onto device 'emulator-5554'
[2012-06-06 23:19:37 - FlagQuizGame] Installing FlagQuizGame.apk...
[2012-06-06 23:19:50 - FlagQuizGame] Success!
[2012-06-06 23:19:50 - FlagQuizGame] Starting activity com.deitel.flagquizgame.FlagQuizGame on device emulator-5554
[2012-06-06 23:19:52 - FlagQuizGame] ActivityManager: Starting: Intent { act=android.intent.action.MAIN cat=[android.intent.category.LAUNCHER] cmp=com.deitel.flagquizgame/.FlagQuizGame }

Reply
Jeremiah
  • Forum posts: 775

Jun 7, 2012, 7:40:48 AM via Website

For some reason I've had no luck setting a physical size of the device. I can use the preset densities, but the size factors don't take for some reason. I don't know if it's a bug with the emulator or just not supported. I wouldn't worry too much about the actual size of the device. The resolution is important HVGA on a 3.7 inch device will not make any difference that HVGA on 3.3 inch device as far as code. The graphics may appear slightly different but it should not be enough to make any difference, unless your making some type of app that needs to display something on the screen that represents a real life size (like a ruler).

Reply
Jeremiah
  • Forum posts: 775

Jun 7, 2012, 7:48:51 AM via Website

Eric McBride
You're the **ckin man Jeremiah B)

Thanks Eric :grin:

Reply
Leonidas Savvides
  • Forum posts: 45

Jun 7, 2012, 9:33:48 PM via Website

I configured 2 AVDs 2.3.3 (and one genera 4.0.3)...one for Galaxy Note 5.3" 2.3.3 and one general HVGA 2.3.3, Well always run latter but When the other day open PC/Eclipse from start up run in Galaxy Note 5.3" AVD 2.3.3,... well, when I have a 2.3.3 App to try and two AVD 2.3.3 which of the two run in?



adjustViewBounds – ImageView maintains its aspect ratio of… means if this setting is false, dimensions of a bigger img will be proportional to the appeared smaller img so as dim NOT stretch in w or h?

— modified on Jun 7, 2012, 9:37:39 PM

Reply
Jeremiah
  • Forum posts: 775

Jun 7, 2012, 10:47:51 PM via Website

Leonidas Savvides
I configured 2 AVDs 2.3.3 (and one genera 4.0.3)...one for Galaxy Note 5.3" 2.3.3 and one general HVGA 2.3.3, Well always run latter but When the other day open PC/Eclipse from start up run in Galaxy Note 5.3" AVD 2.3.3,... well, when I have a 2.3.3 App to try and two AVD 2.3.3 which of the two run in?



adjustViewBounds – ImageView maintains its aspect ratio of… means if this setting is false, dimensions of a bigger img will be proportional to the appeared smaller img so as dim NOT stretch in w or h?

To choose which avd to run in, go to Run -> Run Configurations -> On the Target Tab, Select manual. Now it will ask you which avd to launch when running the app.

For adjustViewBounds, false will NOT preserve the aspect ratio. TRUE will make it keep the aspect ratio, and not stretch the image.

Reply
Leonidas Savvides
  • Forum posts: 45

Jun 8, 2012, 12:08:45 AM via Website

aspect ratio
===========
well when images are 72x72 or 128x128 or 128x72 or 72x128

and the space is 64x64, when we mean:

TRUE will make it keep the aspect ratio, and not stretch the image

we mean some images will be 64x36 IF INITIALLY ARE 128x72?????

Reply
Jeremiah
  • Forum posts: 775

Jun 8, 2012, 2:10:13 AM via Website

Leonidas Savvides
we mean some images will be 64x36 IF INITIALLY ARE 128x72?????

Yes I believe you are right, it will make it as big as it can without losing the aspect RATIO.

Reply
Leonidas Savvides
  • Forum posts: 45

Jun 11, 2012, 8:33:32 PM via Website

GIVE URLs: ANDROID Doc has such?
how install an apk file in emulator - eclipse/vista?
how install an apk file in my Android 2.3.3 device?
most Apps can transferred to SD Card, expecially If are from apk files??


Jeremiah
Leonidas Savvides
Leonidas Savvides
After run an Android App defined in main.xml in visual layout in Eclipse, as 3.7in HVGA, What must do to run in bigger display? I shutdown emulator, and tried modify 3.7in but display is the same, is emulator needed special shutdown? Is needed change and AVD used?

how appear in eclipse adt, line numbers in code view?

How create a file.apk from an Android source files? When I upgrade an apk App eg from 1.0 to 2.0, all the apk's files get replaced?

To create your .apk for publishing on the market you need to export it in eclipse. Go to File -> Export

You will need your own public key to sign it with. See info here: http://developer.android.com/guide/publishing/app-signing.html

Reply
Jeremiah
  • Forum posts: 775

Jun 12, 2012, 7:44:55 AM via Website

To install to the emulator in eclipse/vista: see http://developer.android.com/guide/developing/building/building-eclipse.html#RunningOnEmulatorEclipse
For on an actual device see: http://developer.android.com/guide/developing/device.html

And yes you can transfer the apps to the sd card and install them that way too.

Leonidas Savvides
GIVE URLs: ANDROID Doc has such?
how install an apk file in emulator - eclipse/vista?
how install an apk file in my Android 2.3.3 device?
most Apps can transferred to SD Card, expecially If are from apk files??


Jeremiah
Leonidas Savvides
Leonidas Savvides
After run an Android App defined in main.xml in visual layout in Eclipse, as 3.7in HVGA, What must do to run in bigger display? I shutdown emulator, and tried modify 3.7in but display is the same, is emulator needed special shutdown? Is needed change and AVD used?

how appear in eclipse adt, line numbers in code view?

How create a file.apk from an Android source files? When I upgrade an apk App eg from 1.0 to 2.0, all the apk's files get replaced?

To create your .apk for publishing on the market you need to export it in eclipse. Go to File -> Export

You will need your own public key to sign it with. See info here: http://developer.android.com/guide/publishing/app-signing.html

Reply
Leonidas Savvides
  • Forum posts: 45

Jun 12, 2012, 7:20:07 PM via Website

WELL, to install on emulator, I can with debug key (normal test run) of the App... and I can also with private key(ready for publish but install in emulator rather publish eg to PLAY)? If yes the latter, how? is the first Link this about?

— modified on Jun 12, 2012, 7:20:45 PM

Reply
Jeremiah
  • Forum posts: 775

Jun 12, 2012, 9:02:09 PM via Website

If I was going to install a release version to the emulator, I would do it manually from the command line. Once you have exported your .apk (publish build). You can start the emulator and install it from the windows command line. To start the emulator, type:

emulator @avdname

You can also add the command -no-boot-anim to make it boot faster.

emulator -no-boot-anim @avdname

To install to the emulator once it is running. Type:

adb install c:\path\to\yourapp.apk

See the docs here: http://developer.android.com/guide/developing/building/building-cmdline.html#RunningOnEmulator

Reply
Leonidas Savvides
  • Forum posts: 45

Jun 12, 2012, 11:05:01 PM via Website

an already imported folder ANDROID SOURCE choosen not copy file to workspace, how transfer there after to workspace...? Have to re-import?

Reply
Jeremiah
  • Forum posts: 775

Jun 13, 2012, 4:48:11 AM via Website

Leonidas Savvides
an already imported folder ANDROID SOURCE choosen not copy file to workspace, how transfer there after to workspace...? Have to re-import?

Yeah, I would just remove it from the project, then re-import and choose to copy to workspace.

Reply
Leonidas Savvides
  • Forum posts: 45

Jun 14, 2012, 8:14:15 PM via Website

If run in emulator in debug mode an app then, to install in the emulator apk release mode, have to delete debug run app? Or deleted automatically? How delete?

http://developer.android.com/sdk/oem-usb.html
If I have Kies and can see my SAMSUNG Note phone from vista, I need this URL procedure to run an App in my phone?

Reply
Jeremiah
  • Forum posts: 775

Jun 15, 2012, 12:21:41 AM via Website

You can install with the -r option to overwrite the existing app.
adb install -r path\to\myapp.apk
If you need to delete the previous app:
adb uninstall package.name

Use the package name, not the filename of the app to uninstall.

Reply
Leonidas Savvides
  • Forum posts: 45

Jun 15, 2012, 7:49:28 AM via Website

http://developer.android.com/sdk/oem-usb.html
If I have Kies and can see my SAMSUNG Note phone from vista, I need this URL(additional drivers) procedure to PREPARE my phone To run an App in it or the drivers mentioned do the job??

Reply
Jeremiah
  • Forum posts: 775

Jun 15, 2012, 10:03:16 AM via Website

I'm not sure but I think kies comes with the drivers. I would just try it and if you cant connect adb to your phone, then follow the instructions on the page you listed to get the oem drivers.

Reply
Leonidas Savvides
  • Forum posts: 45

Jun 15, 2012, 12:28:19 PM via Website

the CLI commands above are from windows command prompt?
C:/...???


APK file if a subfolder is in has space and do not accept during install...I must copy to other dir without space so can be used?

is any way understand an App is in debug or release mode in emulator?

— modified on Jun 15, 2012, 12:37:10 PM

Reply
Jeremiah
  • Forum posts: 775

Jun 19, 2012, 7:24:09 AM via Website

Leonidas Savvides
the CLI commands above are from windows command prompt?
C:/...???


APK file if a subfolder is in has space and do not accept during install...I must copy to other dir without space so can be used?

is any way understand an App is in debug or release mode in emulator?

Yes the adb commands I listed are for the windows command prompt. To specify a folder that has spaces in it use quotation marks around the fold\filename such as:

adb install "c:\folder with spaces\myapp.apk"

I'm not sure if there is a way to tell if the app was built with debug or release in the emulator. You could build your debug .apk with a different version number in the manifest, than your release .apk. Then to see which version of the app is on the emulator go to:

settings -> applications -> manage applications -> click on the application and it should tell you the version number of the app.

Reply