GestureOverlayView DrawerLayout

  • Replies:6
  • OpenNot stickiedUnanswered
  • Forum posts: 5

Mar 7, 2014 4:58:28 AM via Website

I'm having problems trying to get a main layout with slide out menu or navigation drawer. I already using a Gesture overlay view and it seems that drawer layout is causing a inflation error. How can I implement a slide drawer with gesture overlay? Links are left out because forum will not allow.

1<android.support.v4.widget.DrawerLayout
2 xmlns:android=""
3 xmlns:tools=""
4 android:id="@+id/drawer_layout"
5 android:layout_width="match_parent"
6 android:layout_height="match_parent">
7
8
9 <android.gesture.GestureOverlayView
10 xmlns:android="
11 xmlns:tools=""
12 android:id="@+id/gestureOverlayView1"
13 android:layout_width="match_parent"
14
15 android:layout_height="match_parent"
16 tools:context=".MainActivity">
17
18
19
20 <LinearLayout
21 android:id="@+id/LinearLayout1"
22 android:layout_width="fill_parent"
23 android:layout_height="fill_parent"
24 android:orientation="vertical"
25 android:padding="10dp"
26 android:layout_gravity="start">
27
28
29
30 <TextView
31 android:id="@+id/timerTextView"
32 android:layout_width="wrap_content"
33 android:layout_height="wrap_content"
34 android:layout_gravity="right"
35 android:layout_marginRight="5sp"
36 android:text="@string/startTime"
37 android:textAppearance="?android:attr/textAppearanceSmall"
38 android:textSize="30sp" />
39
40 <TextView
41 android:id="@+id/hanziTextView"
42 android:layout_width="fill_parent"
43 android:layout_height="0dp"
44 android:layout_weight="1"
45 android:ems="10"
46 android:gravity="center"
47 android:textSize="50sp" />
48
49 <TextView
50 android:id="@+id/instructionTextView"
51 android:layout_width="574dp"
52 android:layout_height="wrap_content"
53 android:layout_weight="0.05"
54 android:textSize="40sp" />
55
56</LinearLayout>
57
58</android.gesture.GestureOverlayView>
59
60 <FrameLayout
61 android:id="@+id/content_frame"
62 android:layout_width="match_parent"
63 android:layout_height="match_parent" />
64 <!-- The navigation drawer -->
65 <ListView android:id="@+id/left_drawer"
66 android:layout_width="240dp"
67 android:layout_height="match_parent"
68 android:layout_gravity="start"
69 android:choiceMode="singleChoice"
70 android:divider="@android:color/transparent"
71 android:dividerHeight="0dp"
72 android:background="#111"/>
73
74
75
76
77
78</android.support.v4.widget.DrawerLayout>

— modified on Mar 7, 2014 6:56:44 PM

Pascal P.
  • Mod
  • Blogger
  • Forum posts: 8,406

Mar 7, 2014 11:35:05 AM via Website

android.gesture.GestureOverlayView must have the layout gravity start then the whole layout is a left or roght Navigation drawer.

LG Pascal //It's not a bug, it's a feature. :) ;)

  • Forum posts: 5

Mar 7, 2014 2:12:12 PM via Website

I'm not sure I understand. Instead of linear layout I should use gravity layout? Everything that is in linear layout is for the main screen and not for the drawer. The drawer at this point should be blank.
Pascal P.
  • Mod
  • Blogger
  • Forum posts: 8,406

Mar 7, 2014 2:31:18 PM via Website

ok, the gesture view must have the Attribute android:layout_gravity = "start".
Looks like this:
1<android.gesture.GestureOverlayView
2
3 android:id="@+id/gestureOverlayView1"
4 android:layout_width="match_parent"
5android:layout_gravity="start"
6 android:layout_height="match_parent" tools:context=".MainActivity">

LG Pascal //It's not a bug, it's a feature. :) ;)

  • Forum posts: 5

Mar 7, 2014 4:52:24 PM via Website

I updated the code with your suggestion but still getting same error. Gesture layout does work without Drawer layout, the addition of drawer layout is causing the error.
Pascal P.
  • Mod
  • Blogger
  • Forum posts: 8,406

Mar 7, 2014 5:01:58 PM via Website

Then i think it's not possible to do this

LG Pascal //It's not a bug, it's a feature. :) ;)

  • Forum posts: 5

Mar 7, 2014 6:59:01 PM via Website

So it turns out it does work. The problem I was having was with my lib. The android-support-v4.jar, there was something wrong. Possible cause, not exactly sure what it could of been was cloning the project from my own github. I ended copying and paste the code into another project and it worked just fine. I wish I can fix my original project though.

— modified on Mar 7, 2014 6:59:44 PM