Arduino + Thunkable + OpenCV = Android Application

• Replies:0
Shounak Ray
  • Forum posts: 2

Mar 28, 2018, 2:43:23 AM via Website

Hello!

I am new to OpenCV, however, I have some experience in Android app development through Thunkable, a programming platform which does not require any Java. I have some expertise in C++, so I was wondering what platform I should download so I can integrate the OpenCV logic with my Thunkable logic. This is for guidance on a project I am working on!!!

Here is my project and my problem/objective:
My app (solely created by Thunkable) currently accesses pictures from the phone's DCIM folder and uses a Microsoft Image Recognition API to identify these images. At this point, the pictures in the phone's DCIM folder are obtained from an external mini camera. I have to press a button on the camera for the picture to be transferred to the phone. For example, the app may access a picture of a watch (which was first taken by the camera), and the app will match the image to a tag, "watch" (using the API). I want to eliminate the user pressing a button on the camera every time; instead, I need some sort of proximity conditional using and Arduino ultrasonic sensor and microcontroller as well.