Can My Samsung Galaxy S6 (SM-G920V) Build Even Be Rooted?

• Replies:3
boddole
  • Forum posts: 1

Jul 14, 2018, 5:49:14 PM via Website

Preamble:
Hello everyone, I'm essentially a complete novice when it comes to mobile phone operating systems and my head is spinning a bit right now. To keep a long story short: My mother came to me today and said she had managed to accidentally delete every picture on her phone (~5 years worth)...

So I've spent all night looking into the various terminology / practices for getting 'deleted' data off Android phones (Rooting, Nandroid, Bootlader, tons of recovery / root programs, etc). I'm just getting confused on all the programs for all the approaches on all the phone types (and even different builds of the same phone).

Just the question:
After doing this research, I'm not even sure if this phone can currently / ever be rooted. It seems its either got a 'rare' or new combination of system specs that no one seems to have info on, and that Verizon is apparently notorious for locking down their phones which greatly limits what I can do.

So, I'm just trying to determine if there is even anything that can be done now (if not, could it be done 'later'?) and if it can be what is the most prudent course of action.

Phone Specs:
Brand:
Samsung

Type:
Galaxy S6

Model:
SM-G920V

Carrier:
Verizon

Android Version:

Android secruty Patch level:
March 1, 2018

Baseband version:
G920VVRU4DRE1

Kernel Version:
dpi@SWHD2403 #1
Mon May 14 20:52:00 KST 2018

Build Number:
NRD90M.G920VVRU4DRE1

Hardware Version:
G920V.07

What I've tried so far: