Correcting Dependency and Version Issues attempting to compile code

• Replies:1
John Tekker
  • Forum posts: 1

Mar 25, 2019, 2:53:50 PM via Website

Hello All,

I am new with programming for Android and could use some help compiling someone else's code I have as I am attempting to test a older App for educational use and debugging experience. I have not yet been able to get the code to run, and I have done some searches and tried a few approaches already without luck so I am just hoping someone may point me in to the right direction of what I am missing.

I believe most of my issues may lie in versioning of old dependencies so I have been trying to compile with older version of Android Studio (as well as current version initially) along with matching versions of Gradle and React-Native, all without luck. Here are the version details I can see from the code...

From looking at the code I know it is using:

React-Native 0.53.3

Yarn Package Manager

Gradle 2.2.3

From Top level build.gradle:

dependencies {
        classpath 'com.android.tools.build:gradle:2.2.3'
    repositories {
        mavenLocal()
        jcenter()
        maven {
            // All of React Native (JS, Obj-C sources, Android binaries) is installed from npm
            url "$rootDir/../node_modules/react-native/android"

From sub level build.gradle:

android {
    compileSdkVersion 23
    buildToolsVersion "23.0.1"

From gradle-wrapper.properties:

distributionUrl=https\://services.gradle.org/distributions/gradle-2.14.1-all.zip