Possible solution for the patent war ... ?

• Replies:9
Alain Haddad
  • Forum posts: 5

Feb 3, 2012, 7:15:52 AM via Website

Hello people,

I'm not an expert in this matter but the main issue now that Samsung is facing is that it's being accused of patent infringements for selling phones having an Android OS. The situation I want to describe is as follows:
Samsung or any other android phone manufacturer sells their phones without the main OS, but a BIOS-like booter.
This BIOS would then allow customers to install the OS of their choice (In this case Android). (Just like a normal PC)

That would definitely solve the problem of users bricking their phones, but my questions are:
1. Will this help manufacturers evade patent infringement accusations ?
2. Is it feasible ?

Looking forward for your comments

Eric McBride
  • Forum posts: 1,790

Feb 3, 2012, 1:05:20 PM via Website

Hmm...you make a good point, but I think if it were that simple Samsung and Google would have already considered it as an option.

Also, in the end even if users had a choice of which OS to install (which would already be insanely tedious to implement in a consumer friendly fashion), the OS would still remain on the phone, meaning that the end result would be the same.

Also, having to install the OS themselves on the phone would seem like too much for a lot of consumers, and would most likely push many of them directly to the iPhone.

— modified on Feb 3, 2012, 1:06:09 PM

Alain Haddad

Feb 3, 2012, 2:17:05 PM via Website

Thank you for you comment

Eric McBride
Also, in the end even if users had a choice of which OS to install (which would already be insanely tedious to implement in a consumer friendly fashion), the OS would still remain on the phone, meaning that the end result would be the same.