john smith
  • Forum posts: 5

Dec 13, 2013, 9:26:15 PM via App

john smith
will I get update on my rooted phone

sinkster
  • Forum posts: 610

Dec 13, 2013, 9:42:26 PM via App

to get the update ota, as in directly from Google, you must be completely stock with no modifications i.e. no root. You'll have to either unroot to do it, or sideload it (flash through a custom recovery). Check on xda forum, it's pretty straightforward.

Sinkster

john smith

Dec 14, 2013, 10:15:08 PM via App

Thanks. Is it easy to unroot?

john smith

Dec 26, 2013, 8:51:15 AM via Website

Thanks I think that I will wait as I am a complete novice. I had a friend try and unroot for me but the custom ROM is still there. It is paranoid android. Is it still possible to get ota with the custom ROM still on?

sinkster

Dec 26, 2013, 9:48:46 AM via Website

Apparently the update server is down at the moment, but check settings/about phone/updates. There is a 4.4 PA rom, available from the official website here. The Nexus 4's codename is Mako, if you didn't know. If you're unsure on what to do you can ask here or on xda.

Sinkster

john smith

Dec 26, 2013, 10:08:50 AM via Website

Thanks again. I have had a ROM update as a zip file but cannot open it as it says there is no device called and this very long name. As you can see I am a complete novice. Would love the kitkat update but will probably brick the phone if I did it non ota.

sinkster

Dec 26, 2013, 12:06:45 PM via Website

I know it can be a little intimidating if you're not sure what you're doing or why you're doing it, but the beauty of Nexus devices is the ease of modding them. While no phone is unbrickable, nexus phones are almost always recoverable and have huge support on XDA and other forums.
The basics are this (for nexus phones only):